Mindfulness Box Zen Lifestyle Subscription Unboxing & Review: November 2015

Mindfulness Box

Mindfulness Box is a lifestyle subscription service aimed at promoting mindfulness, inner peace and balance by giving people the tools to live with more intention and in the present moment. This lifestyle box includes holistic and homeopathic, essential oil, and mineral based health care products, handcrafted jewelry, delicious biodynamic treats, natural minerals/crystals and more. Each box contains 4-5 items accompanied with guided dialogue to enrich the recipient’s journey to balance and inner peace. Boxes cost $29.00 per month, which includes shipping, and are less with multi-month subscriptions. Use code CRUNCHY10 for 10% off of your order.

Mindfulness Box graciously sent me this box to review. I received no additional compensation, and all opinions are my own. See more of my Mindfulness Box reviews here.

Asher and Alina have become my regular Mindfulness Box unboxing sidekicks. They love to see what interesting, useful, and tasty items will be included in the box. You can watch us unbox and discover, or if you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

The box came with the sunny, smiling Mindfulness Box symbol and “Present Moment. Beautiful Moment” message to set the tone to best appreciate the contents. Everything arrived to me safely and intact.

Mindfulness Box November unboxign & review

As always, Mindfulness Box included an enclosure card listing the contents along with descriptions and values, as well as suggestions for how to integrate the items into our life in a way that would promote mindfulness. We set the card aside so that we could discover the items on our own, but referenced it at the end to help us learn about what Mindfulness Box had curated for this month. This month’s theme was focused on gratitude, a perfect message for November when we shift our intention more mindfully to giving thanks.

Mindfulness box serpentine palm stone & heart chakra meditation

Alina had asked to be the first to unwrap an item from the box. She discovered a smooth, polished green stone. In reading the enclosure, we discovered that the stone was a serpentine palm crystal; perfect for carrying in a pocket or holding in one’s hand during meditation (value, $7.50). Mindfulness Box described serpentine as being excellent for meditation and associated with the heart chakra. They also included a heart chakra guided meditation activity.

Mindfulness box custom grateful tea towel

Asher wanted to find the next item in the box, and chose to take out a white tea towel that had been embellished with a stamped mandala design and the word “grateful” as well as the Mindfulness Box logo (value, $14.00). I really liked the unique design of this Mindfulness Box custom item. I do a lot of fermenting and culturing and often need to cover jars with a tea towel to protect my ferments from dust or critters while allowing air to circulate freely.

kombucha infusing with gratitude-mindfulness box

This tea towel was perfect for covering my most recent batch of kombucha. It made me think of Marasu Emoto’s work investigating the relationship between focused intention and water crystal formation. Although the science is dubious, I figure that it cannot hurt to infuse my kombucha and other ferments with a little positive energy and gratitude while they culture.

Mindfulness box gratitude pocket journal

Building on the theme of gratitude, Mindfulness Box sent a pocket-sized, softcover, gratitude journal; custom made as an exclusive for this box (value, $6.00). The journal included a number of writing prompts to reflect on gratitude and blessings, as well as inspiring quotes about gratitude.

Mindfulness box gratitude journal sample page November box

I look forward to using this journal for my own reflections as well as using the prompts to serve as conversation starters during dinner or discussion times with the kids this month. Rich and I often talk about gratitude and how to practice gratefulness in our life as a way to bring about greater happiness. This journal will be a welcomed addition to our practice.

Mindfulness Box Zenbunni chocolate & yo soy candle Grateful

Alina showed off the Zenbunni Spirit Weavers Chocolate Bar as her next selection (value, $3.00). We have gotten to sample several Zenbunni bars through subscription boxes and have become familiar with their high-quality, full-bodied chocolates. The Spirit Weavers bar commemorates the Spirit Weavers gathering that brings together women from around the world annually to practice and share skills that support the body and spirit such as fermenting, dyeing, and herbal medicine making. The biodynamic bar blends hibiscus, elder flowers, and blood orange with cacao and cane jaggery to give a delicious boost to the immune system. I enjoyed the hint of fruitiness balanced by the rich and slightly bitter chocolate.

Zenbunni Spirit Weavers chocolate bar Mindfulness Box

The final item, uncovered by Asher, was a Yo Soy “I am Grateful” soy candle in a sweet orange and chili pepper fragrance (4 oz., value, $8.00) I did not see this scent on the Yo Soy site, but they had many other tempting fragrances available. As is obvious in the video, my kids are very used to having little glass jars of homemade salves all around the house, which is why Asher kept trying to dig his finger into the candle (fortunately without success). As much as I love salves, I was happy that this was in fact a candle. I find that with the darker days in the fall and winter months, I am lighting candles more for meditation, during a relaxing bath, or to create a quiet tone within the house. I was delighted to have this candle to add into the mix, and I loved the fresh orange scent that was balanced with just a hint of spice from the pepper. According to Mindfulness Box, the candle is meant to align you with your intention of gratitude.

Mindfulness full November Box Unboxing & review; zen meditation, chocolate, crystals, gratitude

The overall value of this month’s box according to the retail values provided was $38.50. This is a good value relative to the box price, and a significant increase over last month’s box value. I know that I will use every item in the box, as well as the meditation and gratitude practices. I find that the longer that I have been receiving subscription boxes, the more I have come to appreciate item utility and goodness of fit with my lifestyle over straight retail price. After all, the ultimate value is in the perceived utility to me, not a theoretical number. I very much liked the gratefulness theme; it is one that is not just popular at this time of year, but is very much in keeping with Mindfulness Box’s year-round mission. I like that Mindfulness Box consistently sends a nice balance of items for home, for self, and for emotional and spiritual wellness.

What are your thoughts about Mindfulness Box? Do you appreciate reminders and practices to promote gratitude in your life?

To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you are interested in finding “crunchy-friendly” subscription boxes to enhance the way you live, eat, craft, play, care for you home and body, etc. you can find them on my ULTIMATE list, recently updated for fall. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe to CrunchyParent!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Mindfulness Box Zen Subscription Unboxing & Review-October 2015

Crunchy Parent Mindfulness Box Oct 2015 unboxing review zen

Mindfulness Box is a relatively new lifestyle subscription service aimed at promoting mindfulness, inner peace and balance by giving people the tools to live with more intention and in the present moment. This lifestyle box includes holistic and homeopathic, essential oil, and mineral based health care products, handcrafted jewelry, delicious biodynamic treats, natural minerals/crystals and more. Each box contains 4-5 items accompanied with guided dialogue to enrich the recipient’s journey to balance and inner peace. Boxes cost $29.00 per month, which includes shipping, and are less with multi-month subscriptions. Use code CRUNCHY10 for 10% off of your order.

Mindfulness Box graciously sent me this box to review. I received no additional compensation, and all opinions are my own. See more of my Mindfulness box reviews here.

Asher and Alina have become my regular Mindfulness Box unboxing sidekicks. They love to see what interesting, useful, and tasty items will be included in the box. You can watch us unbox and discover, or if you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

The box came with it’s bright, smiling symbol and “Present Moment. Beautiful Moment” message to set the tone to best appreciate the contents. Everything arrived to me safe and intact.

mindfulness box enclosures meditation October

As always, Mindfulness Box included an enclosure card listing the contents along with descriptions and values, as well as suggestions for how to integrate the items into our life in a way that would promote mindfulness. We set the card aside so that we could discover the items on our own, but referenced it at the end to help us learn about what Mindfulness Box had curated for this month. Alina was the first to find what Mindfulness had in mind for the month, which was a box centered around warmth and grounding; perfect for autumn. Alina took two cards out of the box, each of which were printed front and back with a meditation. In total there were four meditations to help enhance mindfulness, focus, and gratitude throughout the day during routine activities such as eating, cleansing, standing, and sitting.

Flip side of the meditation cards.

Flip side of the meditation cards.

The meditations reminded me of exercises that I have done in my Mindfulness Meditation classes to help enhance awareness and to focus presence. The children and I all practiced the enclosed Chocolate Meditation together. They found it fun and delicious, and the exercise sparked a discussion about taking time to be present and grateful for the simple experiences in our lives rather than mindlessly moving through our day.

Mindfulness Box  Southwest incense sampler

Asher helped with the next item. I had been looking forward to it since Mindfulness Box had released a spoiler on Facebook. It was a beautiful collection of natural wood incense along with a holder by Incense de Santa Fe (value, $9.00). The incense set included seven cones each of seven different woods from the Southwest such as piñon, juniper, and mesquite.

Mindfulness Box Southwestern incense sampler-inside view

I have a special place in my heart for plants of the Southwest since going on my Arizona herbal adventure, and this box made me very nostalgic. I have tried several of the “flavors” so far. They smelled different that I was expecting; less “pine/tree-like” and more like a warming campfire. Burning the incense definitely shifted the ambiance of my space. I can see myself using it for meditation or at times when I want to create a feeling of serenity or coziness.

Mindfulness Box October unboxing review a wild soap bar & The Merry Hempsters lip balm

The next two items that we found in our Mindfulness Box set a great holiday tone. Mindfulness box included A Wild Soap Bar’s Warm Wishes soap (value, $6.50). The soap is a nod to the holiday season with orange, cinnamon, and oats among its ingredients as well as a blend of various organic oils to moisturize dry skin. The soap is topped with a piece of a cinnamon stick, and the package is decorated with pine boughs, pine cones, and bright red berries; giving it a very festive feeling. I think that it would be perfect for gifting too. Mindfulness Box had sent a different bar of soap from A Wild Soap Bar in the past. I love that they continue to showcase this small family business and their wonderful soaps.

As a nice complement to the soap, we found vegan lip balm from The Merry Hempsters in their cinnamon variety (value, $2.99). I have used lip balms from the Merry Hempsters before and like the formula a lot. The hemp oil is very moisturizing and the balm is not sticky or thick at all. I find that sometimes too much beeswax in a lip balm can make it tug at my lips when I apply, but this vegan formula uses candelilla wax and I find that it glides on very smoothly and easily. I thought that the cinnamon leaned more toward the “red hot” versus the spice side of cinnamon. It made my lips tingle when first applied, although it did settle down after a little while. Rich however did not notice any tingle, so perhaps I have more sensitive lips than others.

Mindfulness Box October unboxing review Zenbunni chocolate & tiger's eye

The next treat may have been my favorite indulgence in the box. The Zenbunni Maui Turmeric Ginger chocolate morsel (value, $3.00) was the perfect choice for pairing with the Chocolate Meditation. Another favorite that Mindfulness Box has sent in a past box, Zenbunni is a true artisanal chocolate company, using the finest organic, biodynamic, and wild crafted ingredients. I think that the Maui Turmeric Ginger flavor was just right for fall. Rudolf Steiner, the founder of biodynamic agriculture (and of Waldorf education) wrote about the time of year when the weather cools and the plant moves its energy away from flowering and fruiting, directing it down underground and into the roots. Steiner advised eating roots to help with grounding. I cannot say that I am in full agreement (or even completely understand) all of Steiner’s theories, but I can reflect that while slowly savoring the bar, I was struck by the fiery “root-iness” of it. The turmeric and ginger added a very earthy spiciness to the bar that got my attention and left an impression. I wish that I had another one to nibble right now.

The last item in the box was a beautiful piece of tiger’s eye, one of my favorite gem stones. I have always been drawn to the layers and dimensions in the stone as well as its chatoyancy, which I did not know was a word, but Wikipedia taught me when I was Googling how to describe the shiny amazingness in tiger’s eye. According to Mindfulness Box, tiger’s eye is a stone for protecting, and is both stabilizing and grounding. They went on to add that it enhances good luck, brings financial prosperity, and is protective, especially during travel. Tiger’s eye is associated with the solar plexus chakra. There was no value listed for the stone, and I am really not sure how to estimate its value.

Mindfulness Box October complete unboxing & review

I was especially pleased with the curation of this month’s box. I thought that the autumnal theme and transition to the holiday flavors and scents were very well executed. I also appreciated the emphasis on warmth and grounding, both of which are so important when the temperature cools and the schedule intensifies with holiday activities. The value of this month’s box was lower than recent boxes have been. The total value is $21.49 plus the tiger’s eye and meditation cards, whose values I could not estimate. As I looked at the box in total I would say that I think that it feels like a gift, and is well worth the $29.00 box price. I know that I have used, or will use all of the items. I also appreciate that the box is a nice mix of high-quality, practical, everyday items, special indulgences, and items to enhance my home and mindful practices. What do you think about this month’s Mindfulness Box? Are you happy with the overall value and the autumn feel?

To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you are interested in finding “crunchy-friendly” subscription boxes to enhance the way you live, eat, craft, play, care for you home and body, etc. you can find them on my ULTIMATE list, newly updated for fall. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe to CrunchyParent!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Mindfulness Box Subscription Unboxing and Review-September 2015

Crunchy Parent Mindfulness Box subscription unboxing & review September 2015

Mindfulness Box is a relatively new lifestyle subscription service aimed at promoting mindfulness, inner peace and balance by giving people the tools to live with more intention and in the present moment. This lifestyle box includes holistic and homeopathic, essential oil, and mineral based health care products, handcrafted jewelry, delicious biodynamic treats, natural minerals/crystals and more. Each box contains 4-5 items accompanied with guided dialogue to enrich the recipient’s journey to balance and inner peace. Boxes cost $29 per month, which includes shipping, and are less with multi-month subscriptions. Use code CRUNCHY10 for 10% off.

Mindfulness Box kindly sent me this box to review. I received no additional compensation, and all opinions are my own. See more of my Mindfulness box reviews here.

As you may recall, last month Alina and I filmed the video unboxing just days before our scheduled move and I was so distracted and overwhelmed by the move, I was being anything but mindful. While editing the video, I noticed how much I rushed her through the process of discovering and exploring the items. This month, I tried to create space for the unboxing during a less hectic time, and approach it with gratitude and mindfulness. Alina, Asher, and I all had fun unboxing this much-anticipated box and I smiled and laughed while editing the video; thankful for the fun that we had with one another and amused by my children’s clear observations of me in previous unboxings as they mimicked me here. They are truly little sponges and it always serves as a great reminder to me that I want them to see how mommy greets life in a positive way more than in a hectic harried one. If you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

The box came with it’s bright, smiling symbol and “Present Moment. Beautiful Moment” message to set the tone to best appreciate the contents. Everything arrived to me safe and intact.

Mindfulness box unboxing & review zen calcite crystal sacral chakra meditation

As always, Mindfulness Box included an enclosure card listing the contents along with descriptions and values, as well as suggestions for how to integrate the items into our life in a way that would promote mindfulness. We set the card aside so that we could discover the items on our own, but referenced it at the end to help us learn about what Mindfulness Box had curated for this month. Alina unwrapped the first item, which was a a polished piece of orange calcite (4.5 oz., listed value: $8.00). According to Mindfulness Box, orange calcite is for energizing and cleansing and encouraging positive energy in the areas of sexuality, creativity, and emotions. Orange in color, it is associated with the sacral chakra, also represented by the color orange. Mindfulness Box included suggestions and steps for a guided sacral chakra meditation.

Mindfulness box september 2015 review-white sage, red abalone shell, & Yum Earth organic candies Crunchy Parent

Asher helped to unveil the next item which smelled so fantastic, I was swooning. Mindfulness Box included a beautiful red abalone shell along with about 1/2 oz. of small white sage pieces (listed value $6.50). You may have heard me go on and on about white sage before, as I adore the smell of this sacred Native American herb abundant in the Southwest (home of many of the most intoxicatingly odorous plants, in my opinion). I have used white sage for smudging before, as the smoke from burning the plant has long been used to clear negative energy from spaces and to purify. I have always used bundled sage for this purpose and have not seen it “potpourri-sized” before. Mindfulness Box suggested that the shell be used as a vessel for holding a small pinch of the burning herb while the smoke dissipates into a room. I think that the abalone shell may be too pretty to burn things in so I may just display the sage in the shell and enjoy the scent that way. However it ends up being used in our home, I know that I will love it.

While Asher checked out the abalone shell (which Alina thought looked like a “mermaid’s tail,”) Alina rooted out four Yummy Earth Organics butterscotch candy drops from the box (only two made it to the photo; Eva and Alina had to taste test swiftly). We are very familiar with this line of organic, natural candies and have always appreciated how they are made without ingredients that I cannot or choose not to feed my kids. The butterscotch flavor was one less familiar to us, and was an welcomed treat. (listed value $0.50).

Mindfulness Box Review-Crunchy Parent September 2015 Ganesh statue, mandala coloring book, and pencils

Asher found the next item, which was a small “lost wax” Nepalese copper statue representing Ganesh, not Dumbo as Asher had guessed (listed value; $12.00). I enjoyed Mindfulness Box’s description of the lost wax process, which is a laborious and delicate one; each hand carved mold can only produce about thirty statues, and each statue is later enhanced by hand using miniature chisels and hammers. When I saw the statue, I speculated that it was Ganesh and Eva later chimed in with, “Does he have four arms and an elephant head?” to help me confirm the identity. I strive to expose my children to many cultures, stories, and ideas, and am glad that they grow up knowing about them. That said, I am likewise mindful of the relationship to symbol and belief. Although I enjoy and honor the stories of the Hindu religion, I am not Hindu myself. I think that I will look to pass along the Ganesh statue and his positive energy to a home where he will be properly revered and appreciated.

The final items in the box were a big hit with all of us. Mindfulness Box tucked in The Mini Mandala Coloring Book along with a set of eight Crayola colored pencils (Book value: $9.95; pencil value not provided so I’m considering them to be a bonus item). Coloring books for older children and adults have been gaining in popularity as coloring is increasingly being promoted as a calming and meditative activity. This particular book was created by art therapist Suzanne Fincher, who includes information about mandalas and their connection to the self and to personal growth. The coloring pages are paired with text that describes each traditional mandala’s theme and message. Alina has been coloring with this book in the mornings after breakfast as a calm, quiet activity before school. I think that it is centering for her and a far better before-school activity than getting annoyed with, or trying to annoy one’s siblings. We’ve even used it to practice math, “Mommy, I want to color rainbows. The rainbow has six colors. If the design has thirty diamonds can I do it just with rainbows or will I have extra spaces at the end?” I think that I will put the coloring book and pencils in a central location so that anyone looking for a quiet activity can let their creativity flow within the pages.

Mindfulness Box September 2015 unboxing & review complete

Since so many of the items are unique to Mindfulness Box, I defer to the values listed on the enclosure card. According to the values listed on the card, the total value of this box is $36.95 (plus the bonus colored pencils, which did not have a value listed). I think that this is a good value for the $29.00 box price. Moreover, I think that a great deal of the value of this box goes beyond the sticker price of the items and is about the mindful practices and peace that the box brings to your life. For people who are looking for a subscription to gently remind them to center and care for themselves and those around them and to create a culture of mindfulness and peace, I think that the box value is greatly enhanced. I think that Mindfulness Box is very well curated, and reflects a depth of knowledge with the “niche” of a mindful lifestyle. I have recently started taking a Mindfulness Meditation class at the Cancer Center, and can see myself using many of the items in the box to support my learning and practice. As a mother I greatly value how much my children appreciate, and look forward to receiving the box. It makes me happy that they are delighted by organic treats, natural treasures, and simple, quiet activities that teach them to calm from within when they become overwhelmed.

To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you are interested in finding “crunchy-friendly” subscription boxes to enhance the way you live, eat, craft, play, care for you home and body, etc. you can find that here. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe to CrunchyParent!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Mindfulness Box Subscription Unboxing and Review-August 2015

Mindfulness Box is a relatively new lifestyle subscription service aimed at promoting mindfulness, inner peace, and balance by giving people the tools to live with more intention and in the present moment. This lifestyle box includes holistic and homeopathic, essential oil, and mineral based health care products, handcrafted jewelry, delicious biodynamic treats, natural minerals/crystals and more. Each box contains 4-5 items accompanied with guided dialogue to enrich the recipient’s journey to balance and inner peace. Boxes cost $29.00 per month, which includes shipping, and are less with multi-month subscriptions.

Mindfulness Box kindly sent me this box to review. I received no additional compensation, and all opinions are my own.

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing which features my devoted Mindfulness Box sidekick Alina (who was apparently auditioning for a Mindfulness Box commercial at the end), take a look at the video unboxing below. Forgive that I was rushing a bit with this month’s video. As I mention in the video, the unboxing was three days before we are scheduled to move and I think I was being less present than I should have been; something that tends to happen when we are feeling overwhelmed and could probably most benefit from a moment of mindfulness. In viewing and editing the video, I wish that I had taken a few extra minutes to let Alina explore the items as we opened them, rather than rushing her along. I will take this to heart next month and follow her lead more. She so enjoys receiving this box in particular, and I am grateful to share in her excitement. However, if you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

The box came with it’s bright, smiling symbol and “Present Moment. Beautiful Moment” message to set the tone to best appreciate the contents. The outer box was marked “fragile” to protect the contents. Everything arrived to me safe and intact.

Mindfulness Box August 2015 review: lollipops and tea

Upon opening this month’s box, Alina and I were both excited to see some edible treats tucked in amongst the larger items. Alina snapped up four Yummy Earth Organic lollipops, and immediately started thinking about friends and siblings with whom she could share the goodies (value: $0.50). Each of the flavors included (strawberry, blueberry, watermelon, and cherry) are packed with a full day’s dose of vitamin C. We have been long-time Yummy Earth fans because they are organic and non-GMO as well as being free of artificial colors, flavors, and many common allergens. They are also really delicious. I zoned in on two bags of Yogi Relaxed Mind tea, which blends a host of fantastic herbs and flowers to create a delicious cup of tea. I received this tea as a bonus in a previous Mindfulness box and really enjoyed it, so I was excited to have some more. This item was not listed on the description card included in the box, so it may have been a bonus this month as well.

Mindfulness Box August 2015 Essential oil and diffuser

Among the next discoveries in the box was a .5 oz. bottle of Aura Cacia sweet orange essential oil (listed value: $5.00, although Aura Cacia lists it at $4.15 on their website). The oil came packaged in a box that gave some recipes for using the oil to make a refreshing room mist or a brightening body wash. We love essential oils around here and use them all the time. That is why almost any time I unbox an essential oil, my children will recognize it as familiar; this video being no exception. Mindfulness box paired the essential oil with a gorgeous, two-piece, soapstone essential oil diffuser that had been hand-carved in India (value: $15.00). According to Mindfulness Box, soapstone provides for both movement and widening of one’s horizon and assisting one in “changing with the tides.” They go on to add that soapstone emits a calming energy, stimulating one to release old routines for new loving environments. I have to say that it sounds like the absolute perfect addition as we transition to our new home later this week.

The diffuser is meant to be used with an essential oil and water in the top bowl, and a tea light placed underneath to warm and disperse the oil throughout the air, while the light shines through the carvings. Mindfulness Box expanded on this interplay of scent and light by including the instructions for a guided Jyoti (light) Meditation. I have been bringing Alina with me to my Cancer Yoga class this summer and we always end class with a guided meditation. I think that the practice has been grounding and relaxing for us both. I look forward to using the meditation as suggested with the whole family to build a practice of meditation in our new home.

Mindfulness Box August 2015 review: Salve and amethyst crystal

The last two items in our Mindfulness Box this month included a .75 oz. tin of Sage, Lavender, and Orange Enlightening balm from Medicine of the People (value: $10.00). The all-purpose balm is made by Native Americans using herbs that are hand-foraged in their native soil, which used biodynamic farming practices. I find that as I have become more proficient and confident using herbs for healing, we have been using balms more and more. They come in so handy as a gentle, easy way to soothe and nourish troubled or damaged skin. This week alone we have been using the balm on scraped knees and dry, scaly elbows with great results.

The very last item unwrapped was a beautiful amethyst crystal cluster. Weighing over four ounces, Mindfulness box states a value of $10.00. I absolutely love this crystal. Mindfulness Box listed many wonderful qualities associated with amethyst. What resonated the most for me was, “Amethyst energy encourages the mind to be humble and to surrender to that which is greater than itself in order to gain a deeper understanding of how the powers of the Universe can direct and guide one’s life.” I am excited to add this crystal to my collection, which had been growing ever larger and more beautiful thanks to Mindfulness Box.

Mindfulness Box subscription box August 2015 unboxing & review

I really liked this Mindfulness Box a lot upon opening, and the more I sit with the individual items, the more I come to love and value everything that was included. Both girls spent time with me individually looking over the box and asking questions about the items (some of which started with, “May I have….”). It is clear that they are drawn to the items and curious about integrating the practices. As I look forward with tremendous gratitude to moving into our new house this week, I think about what I want to have in my home and what energy I want to create for my family within the space. So many of the objects and rhythms that I hope to integrate into the home have come to us through Mindfulness Box, which I think is pretty amazing for a subscription box.

The total value of this box according to the values listed on the card is $40.50, which I think is a good for the $29.00 box price. Looking at the individual items, I might have guessed a higher value myself. I think that Mindfulness Box is very well curated, and I really appreciate the high quality of the materials used to create the products in the box. I also like that Mindfulness Box includes such detailed and informative descriptions of the items as well as mindfulness activities that enhance my appreciation for what they choose to include in each box, and allow me to use them in a way that brings peace into my life.

I really look forward to receiving Mindfulness Box each month (and as Alina states, it is her favorite box so far). I think that the subscription remains very true to their mission to provide simple reminders to live more deeply in the moment. In this day and age when there are so many commitments and distractions vying for our attention, I appreciate receiving a box focused on helping me take time to be present to what is important to me in my life and to be mindful of how I want to spend my time, create my environment, and care for myself and my family.

For reviews of prior Mindfulness Boxes, look here. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you are interested in finding “crunchy-friendly” subscription boxes to enhance the way you live, eat, craft, play, care for you home and body, etc. you can find my extensive list here. It has been newly updated and expanded. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe to CrunchyParent!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Mindfulness Box Subscription Box Unboxing and Review-July 2015

8please excuse images that may look wonky on some devices-we're working to fix it.

*please excuse images that may look wonky on some devices-we’re working to fix it.

Mindfulness Box is a recently launched subscription service aimed at promoting mindfulness, inner peace and balance by giving people the tools to live with more intention and in the present moment. This lifestyle box includes holistic and homeopathic, essential oil, and mineral based health care products, handcrafted jewelry, delicious biodynamic treats, natural minerals/crystals and more. Each box contains 4-5 items accompanied with guided dialogue to enrich the recipient’s journey to balance and inner peace. Boxes cost $29 per month, which includes shipping, and are less with multi-month subscriptions.

I purchased this box and was not compensated in any way for this review. All opinions are my own.

Mindfulness Box July 2015

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing which features my sweet middle child this month, please enjoy the video unboxing below. If you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

The box came well-packaged as always and the outer box was marked “fragile” to protect the contents. Everything arrived to me safe and intact. The first thing that I noticed upon opening the box was how wonderful it all smelled. I tend to be very sensitive to artificial fragrances, which can trigger migraines for me, so it is really nice to take a delicious inhale of natural scents and know that I won’t feel ill afterward.

Mindfulness Box July 2015 enclosures

Like last month, this month’s box featured a single enclosure card describing the box contents, listing retail values, and providing suggestions for use, as well as some additional reflections and meditations. There was also a second card this month which appeared to be advertising a yoga-based crowdfunding campaign.

Mindfulness Box July 2015 soap and RAOK cards

A trend that I have noted is for Mindfulness Box to include an exclusive Mindfulness Box branded paper product in their boxes. This month there was a small packet of five note squares with a positive, affirming saying on each one. MB suggested that these cards be used to promote random acts of kindness for others, highlighting the idea that all of our actions and energy are connected. Alina also thought that they would be nice to frame or display in one’s own space to use as positive self-affirmations. Smart girl, that one. Since these cards are exclusive to this box, there is no stated value. Next we discovered that one of the reasons that the box smelled so great was due to this awild soapbar Sea Scrub soap (value $6.50) The organic soap combines sea salt, clay, and kelp along with pumice and a mix of floral, citrus, and spice essential oils, all topped with Himalayan pink salt. It smelled so fantastic, and I cannot wait to use it.

Mindfulness Box July 2015 candle, keychain, wish papers

The next good-smelling treasure was an Aloha Bay Chakra Energy Votive in Abundance paired with a glass votive holder (value $5.00). The candle is made with eco-friendly palm wax and scented with essential oils. Alina loved the fragrance and said that it reminded her of the way that her former Waldorf school smelled, which if you’ve ever visited a Waldorf school is high praise.

Alina was also excited by the Flying Wish Paper Kit (value $11.00) which instructs the user to write their wish on the wish paper, roll it up, and ignite it. The paper burns down to almost nothing and then flies up into the air, lifting the wish with it. After watching the video on the Flying Wish Paper website, I think that this would be a cool activity to do with the kids that would punctuate the idea that putting intention out into the Universe can be a meaningful action. That said, I think that I would want to do this activity outdoors on a non-windy day, and with close adult supervision, i.e. lighting one child’s at a time.

The last item in the box was an Agate Geode with Quartz Crystal Keychain (value: $10.00). According to Mindfulness Box, the crystal helps soothe, calm, heal inner tension and create a sense of personal security; adding that agates have long been associated with strength, courage, longevity, love, healing, gardening and protection. I personally can never have enough keychains to help me find my keys amongst all of the treasures that live in my giant Mommy Bag, and this one is such a unique and pretty one.

I continue to look forward to receiving Mindfulness Box each month. The mission of the box to provide simple reminders to live more deeply in the moment is always reflected in the products chosen. I am impressed by the curation, and tend to find the items useful and beautiful in my home and in my life. It is par for the course with subscription boxes that some items will be hits and others will be misses for each individual, but I have been very happy with the number of hits for me in the Mindfulness Box boxes.

The total value of this month’s box is $32.50, not including the small “Random Acts of Kindness” notes, which I am not sure how to value. This is close to the cost of the box, and not a high price-to-value ratio as far as most lifestyle subscription boxes go. I do think that the curation, item uniqueness and quality, and meditative suggestions add value, but I would like to see the actual item value increase as this subscription continues to establish itself. Additionally, this month Mindfulness Box launched a new Mindfulness Box for kids ages 3-12 years aimed at teaching mindfulness to children. I am curious to learn more about this box in the months ahead as well. What did you think about the July Mindfulness Box?

If you would like to see my most recent listing of “crunchy-friendly” subscription boxes, you can find that here. It has been newly updated and expanded. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe to CrunchyParent!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Mindfulness Box Subscription Box Unboxing and Review-June 2015

Mindfulness Box June 2015 Unboxing & Review

Mindfulness Box is a recently launched subscription service aimed at providing simple reminders and inspiring new, conscientious goods sure to encourage living more deeply in the moment. This lifestyle box includes holistic and homeopathic, essential oil, and mineral based health care products, handcrafted jewelry, delicious biodynamic treats, natural minerals/crystals and more. Each box contains 4-5 items accompanied with guided dialogue to enrich the recipient’s journey to balance and inner peace. Boxes cost $29 per month, which includes shipping, and are less with multi-month subscriptions. To see all of my Mindfulness Box unboxings, look here.

I purchased this box and was not compensated in any way for this review. All opinions are my own.

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing, please enjoy the video unboxing below. If you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

Mindfulness Box June 2015 enclosure card

I should start by noting a change from last month’s box. The May box included an individual enclosure card for every item and each item was wrapped in its own plastic baggie. Although this was helpful in keeping items separated and instructions clear, it did appear to be an unnecessary amount of packaging, which was hard to justify from an environmental perspective. This month Mindfulness box streamlined the enclosures into one sheet listing every item with a brief description, suggestions for use, and a monetary value. In addition, only one item was grouped and packaged in a plastic baggie, the others were only wrapped to the extent necessary to protect them during shipping. I appreciated this change. I did not think that it detracted from the presentation or ease of organization, and it felt more responsible from an ecological perspective.

Mindfuness Box June 2015 affirmation cards and incense matches

The box included deck of 36 daily affirmation cards, exclusive to Mindfulness Box (value $14.00). The idea behind the cards is to bring mindful reflection into your life. It is suggested that to start each day you should pick a card and state the affirmation with gratitude. Throughout the day hopefully your thoughts will be drawn back to the sentiment on the card. Sample statements include, “Breathe it all in. Love it all out.” and “Decide that you want it more than you are afraid of it.” I thought that this was a great mindfulness activity. In addition, Alina (age 9) was also really excited by these cards and she has asked to read one in the morning in the days since the package arrived. I love that the cards have inspired a mindfulness activity that I can share with my children as a great way to start their day.

Also included was a book of incense matches (value $1.50). Although I initially thought that these were matches to be used to light incense, upon inspection I realized that the matches were actually scented, making them a one-stop incense option. You just light them, let them burn for a bit and then blow out and enjoy the fragrance. Mindfulness Box encouraged using the “mini incense” as a momentary reminder to breathe and center one’s self throughout their day.

Mindfulness Box June 2015 bracelets and candy

The next goodies included a bag of five Go Naturally Organic hard candies in a variety of flavors (value $0.50) The candies are organic and non-GMO verified as well as being free of gluten and dairy, artificial colors or flavors, and high fructose corn syrup. The kids were all too happy to help me sample these and gave them rave reviews, asking me to purchase some more soon.

In addition, also admired (but not consumed) by the children was a set of Revel V Wish bracelets (value $9.00). The set consisted of three clusters of crystals strung onto hemp twine. Worn together or individually, these bracelets are meant to be wished upon before wearing. When they ultimately fall off, the wearer is believed to be ready to receive the wish. The bracelets were decorated with amethyst, rose quartz, and citrine crystals and came with a card describing the properties associated with those stones. I was inspired by the bracelet design to customize my bracelet a bit. I stacked the stones in a line and then braided the twine on either side to make a single bracelet, although I still dedicated a wish to each strand. As I have been wearing the bracelet of the last few days, seeing it does serve as a reminder of the wishes that I am holding and certainly brings mindfulness to the intention behind them.

IMG_9041Mindfulness Box June 2015 selenite tower

The “statement piece” in the box was a tapering selenite tower. It is unlike anything that I have and I thought it was really quite special. The tower weighed in at a substantial 12 ounces and stands just over 4 inches tall, although I imagine that there is slight variation. Selenite is believed to aid in mental clarity and decision making, as well as to promote honesty and spiritual growth. Mindfulness Box listed the retail value of this piece at $12.00, and since I’ve never seen anything like it, I defer to their stated value. I look forward to using this tower in my home.

Mindfulness Box June 2015

Once again I was very pleased with my Mindfulness Box. I think that the subscription is a unique one in its purpose of adding mindfulness and consciousness to the buyer’s life. I am pretty well-versed in “crunchy” interests and goods, yet both boxes that I have received to date have introduced me to one or more items that are totally new to me. I appreciate the curation and the intention of the subscription, and I think that energy is reflected in the box and its contents. The total retail value of the products contained in this box ($37.00) was not as high as the calculated value of last month’s box, however I know that I have already used, or will use all of the items in the box, which enhances the value for me. I am looking forward to receiving my next Mindfulness Box and to putting the mindfulness activities from this month’s box into practice.

If you would like to see my most recent listing of “crunchy-friendly” subscription boxes, you can find that here. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Mindfulness Box Subscription Box Unboxing and Review-May 2015

Mindfulness Box is a recently launched subscription service aimed at providing simple reminders and inspiring new, conscientious goods sure to encourage living more deeply in the moment. This lifestyle box includes holistic and homeopathic, essential oil, and mineral based health care products, handcrafted jewelry, delicious biodynamic treats, natural minerals/crystals and more. Each box contains 4-5 items accompanied with guided dialog to enrich the recipient’s journey to balance and inner peace. Boxes cost $29 per month, which includes shipping, and are less with multi-month subscriptions. Currently Mindfulness Box is offering a promotion for 15% off and a free gift with the code MOTHER. Orders must be placed by May 3rd for delivery in time for Mother’s Day. I recently took advantage of the code, which took 15% off my entire multi-month subscription, bringing my individual box price down to $23.23.

In honor of the May box’s Mother’s Day vibe my children joined me for the complete video unboxing shown here. It made me a little less mindful (and thus more prone to minor mistakes, such as repeatedly misidentifying the free gift) but it was livelier and fun, which is part of being a mom too. If you want to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video. To see all of my Mindfulness Box unboxings and reviews, look here.

I should start with my first impression, and that was that the box was packaged with extreme care. Not only was the presentation happy with the smiling Mindfulness Box logo image, but the items were each individually wrapped with a card explaining their use and connecting them to mindfulness and creating calm moments and positive energy as part of a healthy life practice. I will say that I would have preferred the individual baggies being something more Earth-friendly than plastic since there were a lot of them, but the overall care and sentiment were appreciated.

Mindfulness Box Welcome notes

I found that the personal, handwritten note conveyed the care and intention of the individual packaging the box. As I mentioned in the video, I genuinely appreciated seeing my name spelled correctly on the front of the card. That is extremely rare for me and was a level of detail that I noticed. The enclosure card for the overall box reiterated the message encouraging the recipient to carve out moments for personal meditation and reflection, linking the practice to one of the enclosed items.

Mindfulness Box tea and wood

The box included a stick of Palo Santo (approximate value $0.75), which the enclosure card explained is a 100% sustainable and natural wood that grows on the coast of South America. Moreover, this particular stick was wild crafted and sustainably harvested by a family who has planted over 30,000 trees back into their area. The card suggested many ways to use the wood from brewing it as a tea to burning it and using it similarly to a smudge stick to clear areas. I burned a portion of it while working on this post, and Rich was so struck by the unique scent when he entered the room that he closed his eyes and took a deep blissful breath, which alone may have been worth the price of the box. I don’t know the exact source of Mindfulness Box’s Palo Santo, but I based the value on these ones of similar description that I found on Amazon, right before I ordered more.

In addition, as part of my free gift for using the MOTHER code when ordering, the box included two bags of Yogi Tea “Relaxed Mind” (value $0.50).

Mindfulness Box chocolates and crystals

Another part of my free gift, was a precious bar of ZenBunni chocolate in “Lost Salt of Atlantis” (value $2.00). The box also included two additional bars in “Original Topanga” and “Kathmandu Chai” (value $5.00 total). These bars of artisanal chocolates are very tiny (approximately 1 inch by 2 inches) and are clearly meant to be savored and appreciated. The bars are free of gluten, dairy, soy, and refined sugars and are made from certified biodynamic, organic, and wild foraged ingredients. I was familiar with biodynamic farming practices because biodynamic farming and Waldorf education, which my children all attended for some period of time, were both founded by Austrian philosopher Rudolf Steiner. We had also been members of a biodynamic CSA farm for six years. For those who are unfamiliar with biodynamic growing practices, ZenBunni offers this explanation.

The box also included two small stones, one of which was packaged with my free gift of teas and chocolate (value unknown).

Mindfulness Box EO

Aura Cacia essential oil in Chill Pill (value $10.99) is a blend of sweet orange, lavender, patchouli, peppermint, sweet basil, and Roman chamomile essential oils meant to aid with relaxation. Midnfulness Box also included an enclosure from Aura Cacia with information about how much of the essential oil to use in a number of suggested applications.

Mindfulness Box necklace

This Lael Sunrise Jewelry handmade, faceted, rose quartz necklace is the item that I kept mistakenly referring to as the free gift in the video. It is not the free gift, this lovely item was included in every box and was packaged in a small jewelry box, perfect for gifting. The handcrafted necklace on a 14-karat gold-filled chain is meant to resonate with the heart chakra. I think that it looks delicate and beautiful on, and I have been enjoying wearing it. This item can be purchased directly from Mindfulness Box (value $32.00).

Mindfulness Box cards

Mindfulness Box also included this set of five notecards and envelopes. The notecards feature quotes from Zen Buddhist poet Thich Nhat Hanh (value $12.00). I look forward to using them as gift enclosures, “just because” notes for friends, or as an extension of journaling as suggested by Mindfulness Box. These cards are seemingly another Mindfulness Box exclusive.

Mindfulness Box complete

Overall, I was very pleased with my first Mindfulness Box. At first glance, I wasn’t sure how the value would stack up against the purchase price, but my best estimates would place the value of the box at around $60.74, which does not include my free gift with purchase or the small stone whose value I could not estimate. My absolute favorite discovery in the box is the Palo Santo stick, despite being a low value item in terms of cost. Moreover, I am incredibly impressed with the quality and craftsmanship of the items included in the box, and the overall curation. I think that Mindfulness Box remains very true to their stated mission and demographic, and will be especially appreciated by a like-minded consumer. I am excited to receive my next box to see how this subscription continues to evolve.

If you would like to see my most recent listing of “crunchy-friendly” subscription boxes, you can find that here. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Holistic Cyber Monday Deals: Subscription Boxes, Green Beauty, and More

Photo credit: twicepix / Foter.com / CC BY-SA

Photo credit: twicepix / Foter.com / CC BY-SA

Is your credit card crying yet? I must admit that I’m feeling a little exhausted by all of the shopping frenzy that seemed unavoidable these past few days, even though I’ve only been to the grocery store in that time. I do appreciate the opportunity to save money on purchases that we have been waiting to make. There are some great deals to be had on everything from appliances to winter outerwear. It’s also a good time to stretch your dollar and bring healthier products into your home or the homes of others at a more manageable price. I wanted to highlight a few more deals that end today.

Subscription Box Deals:

Once again, I love crunchy-friendly subscription boxes. I think that they make great gifts or gifts-to-self. Most of the following subscriptions are all featured on my Ultimate Guide to Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes. You can find out more about each one there. Some will be added to my Winter update very soon (keep an eye out for that).

1. Mindfulness Box is offering 20% off of everything in their online store and off of subscription purchases with the code GRATITUDE20. See reviews of past Mindfulness Boxes here.

2. Goddess Provisions is offering 15% off subscriptions for first time subscribers with code magic15. Subscriptions will renew at regular price. Expires on Dec 1. They also have stocked a few of their first two boxes in their shop if you missed out. See reviews of the past Goddess Provisions boxes here.

3. Vegan Cuts is offering up to 20% off their snack and beauty subscription boxes as well as bonus gifts through the link provided (no code needed).

4. Love with Food is offering 15% off all subscriptions as well as bonuses for multi-month subscription purchases (see link for details).

5. Send Me Gluten Free is offering 20% off a 3, 6 or 12 month subscription using coupon code CYBERMONDAY20.

6. Mystical Mojo Box is offering an array of Cyber Monday deals with the following codes: CMMEGA = 27% off Mega Mojo Boxes; CMMOJO = 22% off Mojo Boxes; CMCRYSTAL = 18% off Crystal Mojo Boxes; CMTAROT = 18% off Tarot Readings.

7. Yogi Surprise is offering 40% off your first jewelry box with code JEWELRY15.

Green Beauty Deals:

1. Devine Beauty Emporium (the sister site to PureBox) is having a Cyber Monday sale with the code DEVINE10. Buy $100, get $10 off. Buy $200, get $30 off. Buy $300, get $50 off.

2. Lauren Brooke Cosmétiques is offering 30% off all full-sized products today.

Bonus Deal:

Chico Bag is offering 40% off all orders $50 or more today using code CYBER2015 (excludes sale items).

For additional deals that may still be running through today, check out my earlier holistic Thanksgiving weekend deal posts here and here. If you have any crunchy bargains to share, please let me know in the comments.

**Barganic Alerts are an effort to spread awareness about affordable crunchy goods and services (and here’s why). They are not endorsements. They tend to be time-limited, and often go quickly. To make sure that you are always in the know, subscribe to CrunchyParent.com to receive emails of all Barganic Alerts as soon as they are posted**

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Goddess Provisions NEW Spirit Enhancing Subscription Unboxing and Review: October 2015

Crunchy Parent Goddess Provisions Unboxing & Review October 2015

Goddess Provisions is a new subscription service, just added to the recent fall update of the Crunchy Parent Ultimate List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes. Created by the owners of Vegan Cuts, Goddess Provisions is a monthly lifestyle box for women. They send products to nourish your inner goddess and grow your spiritual practice. Boxes feature a mix of 4-6 full size items, spanning across the categorizes of aromatherapy, apothecary beauty products, superfood snacks, teas, crystals, books and more. All items are 100% vegan and cruelty-free.

Boxes cost $33 per month, which includes shipping. There are discounts for multi-month subscriptions. I purchased this box and was not compensated in any way for this review. All opinions are my own. This box is sold out, but the November box is available for pre-order.

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing of the very first Goddess Provisions box, please enjoy the video unboxing below. If you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

The box came well-packaged, and everything was received intact. The box was beautifully fragrant, even before being opened. I loved the spicy anise smell and was excited to dig into the box.

Goddess Provisions October first box unboxing Crunchy Parent

Since this is the very first Goddess Provisions Box, I was especially curious to see the box enclosures and get a feeling for how the box was being presented. Goddess Provisions has a bright and visually-appealing enclosure card. The enclosed items were presented in photos and each product was described with valuing information and Twitter and Instagram information for each company. I liked how Goddess Provisions was positioning themselves not just as a box service, but also as a way to build brand awareness and community around companies who make products likely to appeal to their customer base. Looking at the card, the box seemed to be focused around a “Third Eye Chakra” theme with an emphasis on tuning into your intuition. I am interested to see if all Goddess Provisions boxes will have their own unique theme.

The first item was the source of the box’s wonderful fragrance. A full size box of Buddha Teas Third Eye Chakra Tea (value: $10.99; currently on sale for $8.99 through the Buddha Teas website). The third eye chakra is associated with insight, knowledge, and wisdom. This organic herbal tea blends fresh eyebright, jasmine, spearmint, star anise, and passion flower. All of the herbs with infused with sapphire essence before drying and packaging in their bleach-free tea bags and 100% recycled boxes.

I offered Alina and Asher a cup of the new tea and they were both a bit wary at first, worried that if they did not like it they would be stuck. I suggested that I make myself a cup that they could taste before deciding to commit. In both cases, the kids opted for the “new tea” and I had to keep brewing myself a new cup. The next day both children approached me individually asking for tea; each specifying that they would like the “new tea.” Alina even went on to ask if I was planning to buy more of the “new tea” once we finish up the 18 bags. This was high praise. We are a big tea drinking family with an impressive selection of teas, yet we tend to stick with our tried and true favorites. To all embrace a new tea so immediately and wholeheartedly is rare, but this blend just seemed to be a good fit for the four of the five of us who have tried it so far.

After admiring the new box of tea, I spied a “Just Because” candle tin from Pura Botanica in their Tea Garden scent (value $13.00). Candles create such a warm comforting ambiance in the fall, and I love that this candle is made from 100% soy wax, a cotton wick, and is scented with essential oils. I appreciated the soft fragrance, which blends orange, lavender, lemongrass, peppermint, & bergamot, yet was decidedly floral. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the travel-sized candle burns for approximately 21 hours. Their other fragrances (chai, citrus, and mint) sounded wonderful as well.

Goddess Provisions unboxing October 2015 Balanced Guru mist Chocolita raw chocolate

After discovering some new-to-me brands, I was happy to see a familiar “face” in the crowd. The Balanced Guru Intuition Energy Mist (value $10.00) is a product that I have used before. The mist is intended to be sprayed above or around you and inhaled to boost your intuition, imagination, and insight. The spray draws upon essential oils of palmarosa, pine, rosemary, lavender, lemon, and Roman chamomile to create its unique and uplifting scent. I like using the mist when I need a little jolt to pull me out of feeling stagnant or tired.

The next item in the box had been released as a teaser by Goddess Provisions through social media. The Chocolita raw white chocolate Blueberry Bliss bar had caught my eye (value $4.95). I was intrigued by the white chocolate aspect, as it was my understanding that white chocolate was a confection and not really a “chocolate” at all and I could not understand how it could be raw. I will sheepishly admit that having tasted the bar, I still don’t really understand the white chocolate descriptor. The chocolate is brown, not white, and certainly tastes rich and chocolaty, which is not the flavor that I associate with super-sweet white chocolate. I gather the white chocolate distinction is because the bar is made with cocoa butter and not actual cacao, but I’m just hypothesizing here. Perhaps someone can enlighten me a bit.

White chocolate aside, the bar was unexpected and delicious. The blueberries and other botanicals were very finely ground. The bar was smooth with only a barely perceptible grainy texture to hint at the inclusion of the plant ingredients. Asher remembered the guided chocolate meditation that I had done using a small artisanal chocolate bar received in another subscription, and thus referred to this bar as “chocolate meditation.” For days he kept asking me if he could have some of the chocolate meditation. I had to stifle a laugh when he said that he had some chocolate meditation on his face, but had licked it off because it was delicious. It makes me happy to see my children learning mindful practices and savoring what they consume. We have grown accustomed to slowly nibbling the rich small-batch chocolate bars that we have received through subscription boxes. Despite the bar’s modest size, it lasted through three days of me sharing bits of it with the children.

Goddess Provisions review Meow Meow Tweet Repair Balm & Amethyst crystal point Crunchy Parent

If you watch the video you can see how excited I was to find a Meow Meow Tweet product in the box. I really enjoyed meeting and talking with Tara, the creative spirit behind Meow Meow Tweet at A Night for Green Beauty this past summer. I love the brand’s graphics and packaging. More importantly, I value the knowledge and appreciation for plant ingredients that are reflected in their products. The vegan Repair Balm (value $18.00) included in this month’s Goddess Provisions box blends organic sesame oil and shea butter along with wildcrafted candelilla wax and organic essential oils to create a nourishing multi-purpose balm. The balm can be used on dry skin, cuticles, or lips as needed, and I know that it will be needed often in the cold and windy months ahead of us. I loved the grounded woody scent of the balm, owed largely to the myrrh essential oil, I suspect. The balm glides on smoothly and was moisturizing, but not greasy. It absorbed quickly, leaving a light, protective barrier from the candlelila wax. I can see myself using this a lot on dry hands and feet in particular.

The final item in the box was a tiny drawstring bag that held a small amethyst point inside (value $5.00). Goddess Provisions detailed the history of these precious crystals on their blog. The rare Vera Cruz amethyst points included in the box are purported to be a very special high vibrational crystal; allowing a spiritual connection while also enhancing the protective energy field, and aiding in meditation.

Goddess Provisions first October box review Crunchy Parent

The overall value of the box was $61.94, which I think is a great value relative to the purchase price. Goddess Provisions has curated and presented a beautiful first offering. The products included represented a nice mix of edible treats, body care, home, and spiritual items. The brands all appear to have a strong emphasis on quality of ingredients and mindfulness for the planet and its inhabitants. I was pleased to see that the brands who were familiar to me were ones that I like a great deal, and that there was also a host of new-to-me brands whose products I was happy to discover. One of my favorite aspects of subscription boxes is learning about new companies and products that have already been screened and vetted by the careful curators to be consistent with my values and priorities. I liked everything about this box, and eagerly look forward to watching the subscription as it moves forward.

I am amazed at the transformation and growth in the “green lifestyle” subscription box genre in the two years since I started to explore subscription boxes that are in keeping with the way that I live. I am thrilled that consumers continue to demand healthier, safer products; creating a market for conscious companies and subscription services. Goddess Provisions is a great addition to this mix.

If you would like to see the most recent Crunchy Parent List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes, you can find that here. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos or reviews, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

BuddhiBox Yoga Lifestyle Subscription Unboxing & Review: October 2015

CrunchyParent BuddhiBox October Unboxing & Review

BuddhiBox is a subscription service bringing mindful living products to use in your yoga practice and to enhance your life. Products are ethically sourced, cruelty-free, and created with intention. BuddhiBox is guided by the principles of discovery, union, and compassion; hoping to help you discover new products and share them with your community. BuddhiBox donates a portion of each box’s cost to a new charity each month. Each box includes 4-6 full-size items for $32.95/month (shipping included). There are discounts on multi-month subscriptions.

I purchased this box and all opinions are my own. To see BuddhiBox unboxings from prior months, look here.

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing please enjoy the video unboxing below. If you would like to skip along to the photos and valuing information, scroll right on down.

The box was well packaged in an outer shipping box. Everything arrived to me safely and intact.

Buddhibox October unboxing & review enclosure cards

I really enjoy BuddhiBox’s presentation. I love the Yogicard that they include each month, illustrating and describing the technique and benefits behind a yoga pose. This month’s pose was “Heart Chakra Pose.” I though tit was especially cute that the yogi in the pose was wearing pink ribbons on her skirt as a nod to October as Breast Cancer Awareness month, which was highlighted later in the box as well. The box also included a recipe card for Fried Rice with Tofu, and the card describing the box contents. Every month BuddhiBox donates a portion of their proceeds to a charity, and the box enclosure card highlighted the Circuelle Foundation as the charity selected this month. The Circuelle Foundation aims to educate young women about breast health and teach healthy rituals.

Buddhibox October unboxing Om intention candle & thieves oil spray

The first thing that caught my eye in the unboxing was an absolutely gorgeous candle, The In Light & Love Intention Candle (6 oz., value $12.00) is their Om candle, associated with the crown chakra. The candle is housed in a beautifully decorated tin that encourages you to write your intention in a space provided on the tin. When you light the candle, you direct your energy toward the declared intention.

Closeup of Om candle lid

Closeup of Om candle lid

I loved this idea and thought it such a great way to tie intention and mindfulness to ritual. The candle even came with a tiny piece of chalk for writing the intention. I imagine that you could either dedicate a single intention to the candle, or erase and write a new intention as needed. The soy wax candle’s scent is a blend of vanilla, coconut, magnolia blossom, and lavender. I found the scent to be stronger than I prefer, although I can be quite sensitive to scents. I know that others prefer candles with a strong scent throw in a room, so this might be the perfect choice for someone who likes candles to have a pronounced presence.

I loved the scent of the next item, Optimal Health Oil’s Thieves Blend Spray (size estimated as 2 oz., value $10.00). I am a huge fan of Thieves oil and have been blending my own Thieves for many years. This legendary mix of rosemary, clove, cinnamon, eucalyptus, and lemon essential oils has been used for centuries to kill bacteria and viruses. We spray it all throughout our house regularly, and especially during times of illness.

BuddhiBox October unboxing & review Jiva headband & Circuelle cream

As a nice tie-in to yoga practice on the mat, the box included a cute sweat-wicking headband from Jiva Clothing, a new-to-me brand (value $10.00), s well as a coupon code for $10.00 off of a Jiva Clothing order. The headband is stretchy and designed to be worn either as a narrow band or it can be unfolded and word wide for a different look. I liked the cute print and thought that the black and white was a very versatile option for most workout gear.

Buddhibox also included a bonus gift from the Circuelle Foundation. Circuelle’s Breast Ritual cream is an organically-based blend, designed to assist in breast self-examination and earlier detection of breast cancer. Circuelle also included a helpful pamphlet to guide the user through a breast self-exam. I think that this bonus is a true gift to remind us to monitor our breasts and bodies for changes that may be suspicious. Breast health and breast cancer awareness is critical and so important for early detection. I will add here that 50% of all cancer diagnoses are “rare” cancers, so while you are checking out your breasts for any signs of lumps or suspicious changes, remember to give the rest of yourself a look too.

BuddhiBox unboxing review October Energy Muse Chakra Heaing Stones Set

Arguably the most colorful item in the box was a happy little bag of Energy Muse’s Chakra Healing bag of stones. BuddhiBox listed a value of $25.00, but Energy Muse prices this item at $19.99 on their site, so I am going to defer to that (value $19.99). The tag on the bag of stones outlines the property most associated with each stone and the color associated with each of the seven chakras. Energy Muse also provided a suggestion for using the stones in a chakra-balancing, quick meditation. I love the idea of having a little bag of stones dedicated to the seven chakras. I think that there are many people, myself included, who often feel imbalance in their lives. Having an array of practices to try that might help a person feel restored in their balancing is a good idea, and I imagine that many people would feel refreshed after taking 8-10 minutes to clear their mind and relax.

BuddhiBox October review People Towels paper alternative

The final item in this month’s box took me a minute to fully understand. The On the Go Alternative to Paper Towels set by People Towels (value $11.00) is a set of two washcloth-size organic cotton towels in a small bag. The towels feature cute prints, dyed with eco-friendly dyes. It took me a moment to realize that the set is meant to be tossed in a purse or gym bag and used instead of paper towels when washing hands in public restrooms, or I suppose whenever you might need a paper towel or small cloth. I really love this idea and think that it would also make a great alternative to hand wipes to keep around in a diaper bag for messy babies and toddlers (just add a splash of water).

BuddhiBox yoga subscription unboxing review October Crunchy Parent

In total this month’s BuddhiBox had a retail value of $62.99+ the bonus cream. I think hat this is an excellent value, at almost double the purchase price of a single box. I like that Buddhibox embraces the idea of a yoga lifestyle subscription. They included items to support physical health, emotional and energetic balance, environmental health, and items for direct use in yoga practice. I continue to appreciate the yoga cards and recipes. I also really like that BuddhiBox includes a charitable aspect to their box, with monthly nations to different charities.

What do you think of BuddhiBox? Have you had a chance to sample some of the other yoga-focused or crunchy, zen, mindful subscription boxes to compare?

To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you are interested in finding “crunchy-friendly” subscription boxes to enhance the way you live, eat, craft, play, care for you home and body, etc. you can find that here. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos or unboxings, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe to CrunchyParent!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather
1 2