Vegan Cuts Beauty Subscription Box March 2016 Unboxing & Review

Crunchy Parent Vegan Cuts Beauty March 2016 Unboxing & Review.

About Vegan Cuts Beauty Box

The Vegan Cuts Beauty Box is a monthly subscription service that sends 4-7 vegan, cruelty-free cosmetic and skincare items in each box. Products are a mix of full and sample sizes. Items are paraben free and are often organic and natural.

Boxes cost $22.95 per month, which includes U. S. shipping. There are discounts for multi-month subscriptions. I purchased this box and was not compensated in any way for this review. All opinions are my own. To see unboxing from other months, look here.

Vegan Cuts Beauty Box: March Unboxed

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing the March 2016 Vegan Cuts box, please enjoy the video unboxing below. If you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

Each month, Vegan Cuts includes an information card that provides photos, a brief description, and valuing information for all items in the box. The card also included the code MARCHBEAUTY for $10 off any purchase of $50 or more at Vegan Cuts Beauty Shop. I think that Vegan Cuts (and their sister subscription company Goddess Provisions) have some of the best looking information cards that I’ve seen.

Vegan Cuts Beauty March 2016 unboxing & review-Pacifica, Shea Radiance, October Fields

I had seen the Vegan Cuts monthly preview video for March and was very excited to receive the first item that I pulled from the box. I love the Pacifica brand. They have an eye on quality ingredients; work to benefit the environment, and their products are cruelty free and affordable. The full-size Tunisian Jasmine Lime Roll-On Perfume (.33 oz., $12.00) is a new fragrance recently released by Pacifica. The scent blends the floral notes of jasmine and orange blossoms with a hint of fresh citrus.

I love Pacifica’s roll-on perfumes for their ease of application and their exclusive reliance on natural and essential oils to fragrance the products. They are a great alternative to artificially-fragranced perfumes. I have them in several scents and use them individually or in layers to make “custom” blended creations.

Next up was a bottle of Black Soap Body Cleanser by Shea Radiance (59 ml, $5.00). I have used facial cleansing products based on African black soap, but this is the first black soap body wash product that I have received. I was expecting that the body wash might have some texture due to the plantain and cocoa potash and the oatmeal included, but it was a smooth softening gel. I was pleasantly surprised by the fresh, mildly minty fragrance of the body wash; scented with blend of grapefruit, lavender, and spearmint essential oils.

The body wash left my skin feeling soft and moisturized. I think that it will be excellent for use this summer, when my skin is craving moisture and I can use a cool minty pick-me-up. Although labeled as a body wash, the Shea Radiance site indicates that the product can be used on face and hair as well. Many of the reviews praise it especially as a face wash for combination skin.

The third item that I found tucked in the box was a scented, soy-wax, tea light candle from October Fields (value $1.00). I can always use tea light candles so I was happy to find this in the box.

Vegan Cuts Beauty March 2016 unboxing & review-Everclen, Erthlab Cosmetics, DermOrganic

I was intrigued by the box of Everclen Eye Cream that I spied next (.5 oz., $20.00). I was not familiar with this brand previously, but I liked that they formulate specifically for sensitive skin types. I have mentioned before that the skin around my eyes is especially sensitive relative to the rest of my skin, so an eye cream for sensitive skin seemed right up my alley. I appreciate that the ingredients list doesn’t include any artificial fragrance. I’ll need to take a closer look at all of the product ingredients to consider if it looks like a good fit for me and my uber-sensitive under-eye area.

The next item was another previewed item. The DermOrganic 8-Way Thermal Spray (2 oz., $10.00) is designed to protect hair from heat damage due to styling. The spray is also formulated to protect hair color from fading. The DermOrganic spray is gluten-free as well as being free of paragons, phthalates, sulfates, dyes, and artificial preservatives.

The final item in the box was a full size Vegan Eye Liner from Earthlab Cosmetics. This black mineral-based eyeliner uses jojoba and other natural oils and waxes as its base. Vegan Cuts had sent out an Earthlab Cosmetics vegan mascara in their January box. Clearly they are fans of this vegan, green beauty brand.

March Vegan Cuts Beauty Box: Overall Impressions

Crunchy Parent Vegan Cuts Beauty Subscription Box March 2016 unboxing & review

I really liked this box by Vegan Cuts. I appreciate that they take time to curate a balanced box of vegan products. The March box had items for skin, hair, body, home, cosmetics, and a fragrance. I was happy to find some new brand and product discoveries. I know that many of them will really brighten my spring. Although it is still up to each consumer to review product ingredients to determine goodness-of-fit, the products in the box are greener than most conventional counterparts, and free of many nasties. As a reminder, if you’re in the market for a green vegan lifestyle subscription, Vegan Cuts’ sister company, Goddess Provisions offers a lifestyle box where all of the items are cruelty-free, vegan, and green/natural. I love that box too (see Goddess Provisions reviews here).

The overall value of this month’s box is The value of this month’s box is $68.00. I think that this is a fantastic value for the $22.95 box price. I also appreciate that the items were all full size or generous deluxe-sample sizes that will allow me to get a good sense of product performance over an extended period of time. I think that the Shea Radiance Black Soap Body Cleanser is my favorite new discovery in the box so far. Did you find a new favorite in this month’s Vegan Cuts? If you would like to see my reviews of past Vegan Cuts Beauty Boxes, look here.

If you are curious to learn about the April Vegan Cuts box, they have released a sneak-peek video that reveals two fantastic spoiler items.

If you would like to see the most recent Crunchy Parent List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes, you can find that here. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos or reviews, please let me know in the comments.

To keep up with all the Crunchy Parent happenings, be sure to subscribe to CrunchyParent.com and the Crunchy Parent YouTube channel and visit me on Facebook Pinterest and Twitter!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Vegan Cuts Beauty Subscription Unboxing & Review: February 2016

Crunchy Parent Vegan Cuts Beauty Box Unboxing & Review February 2016

The Vegan Cuts Beauty Box is a monthly subscription service that sends 4-7 vegan, cruelty-free cosmetic and skincare items in each box. Products are a mix of full and sample sizes. Items are paraben-free and are often organic and natural.

Boxes cost $22.95 per month, which includes U. S. shipping. There are discounts for multi-month subscriptions. I purchased this box and was not compensated in any way for this review. All opinions are my own.

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing my February 2016 Vegan Cuts box, please enjoy the video unboxing below. If you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

Each month, Vegan Cuts includes an information card that provides photos, a brief description, and valuing information for all items in the box. The card also included the code FEBBEAUTY for $10 off any purchase of $50 or more at Vegan Cuts Beauty Shop. I think that Vegan Cuts (and their sister subscription company Goddess Provisions) have some of the best looking information cards that I’ve seen.

Vegan cuts beauty subscription February 2016 harvey prince parfum and 100% pure eyeshadow creamstick

The first item that I saw this month was a Harvey Prince Eau de Perfume mini roller in Madagascar Vanilla (8.8 ml, $23.00). Subscribers may have received this scent, or another variety of the Harvey Prince mini rollers. I have received Harvey Prince products from subscription boxes the past. Unfortunately, although I liked the scents that they offered, I tended to get headaches when I used them, which is my typical reaction to artificial fragrances.

In 2015, Harvey Prince re-branded themselves as Harvey Prince Organics. The “Organic” term technically holds no real meaning in the cosmetic industry unless paired with some sort of certification from an established agency. That said, in referencing the rebranding, the Harvey Prince website states,“We take great pride in using only the best essential oils and finest natural ingredients for each note in every scent, with no toxic chemicals still found in many commonly used perfumes.” and “…never compromise our belief that all beauty products should be cruelty free and organic.” Given that information, I am not sure if they have reformulated their products to remove synthetic fragrances. The ingredients still list parfum/fragrance as opposed to essential oils so I’m unclear about how that relates to the above statement about essential oils and finest natural ingredients.

Harvey Prince Eau de Parfum leaked in February Vegan Cuts Beauty Box

As you can see on the video and in the photos, the bottle that I received had leaked significantly during shipping. I reached out the Vegan Cuts through their website and completed a short form about having received a damaged item. Vegan Cuts responded promptly with an offer to send a full replacement box, which I received several days later. I have to say that I was thoroughly impressed with this level of customer service.

The next item in the box was one that had been released in the Vegan Cuts preview video for the month; a dual eye creamstick liner from 100% Pure (2.6g, $25.00). Vegan Cuts lists the value of this product as $18.00 on their card, but the product is $25.00 on the 100% Pure site for the same size and colors so I am deferring to that value. Subscribers received one of two color combinations of this dual-purpose product that can be used as an eye-liner or eye shadow. The formulation blends nourishing natural butters and waxes along with sea minerals, minerals, fruit powers, and tea to create these beautiful and natural shades. I typically use powdered mineral eye products, but look forward to trying out this creamstick. The colors are beautiful and very wearable, and I like the idea of a stick application. I often find that despite my steadiest hand, I inevitably drop a speck of mineral powder during application and end up with pigment on my face where it doesn’t belong. I suspect that I will quickly warm up to the ease of application offered in this product.

Vegan Cuts The Wonder Seed Facial Cream and Tara Smith hair serum

The next item to catch my eye was a deluxe sample-sized, pump bottle of Tara Smith Base Coat Serum emblazoned with a bright pink exotic bird (25 ml, $13.00). This serum is designed to smooth and add shine to hair; to control frizz without weighing hair down.

The product is vegan, cruelty-free, and gluten-free. The website states, “Every product is free from animal-derived ingredients, parabens, SLES, glycols, phthalates, PEGS, artificial coloring, and synthetic fragrances.” The linked product page as well as the bottle label also boasts botanical ingredients like starflower seed extract and Tegosoft CT coconut oil to smooth and hydrate hair, although I do not see these ingredients listed on the actual product. According to the bottle the ingredients are:

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethiconal, Dimethicone, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Borago (Borage) Seed Oil, Fragrance/Parfum, Linalool, Limonene

I’m guessed that the Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride must be the referenced Tegosoft CT coconut oil, but I had to Google to figure out that borage seed oil is code for starflower seed extract. I’m also surprised to see a second product in the box claiming to not use synthetic fragrance but sampling listing fragrance/parfum on the bottle. I know that I always assume that fragrance in an ingredient list means synthetic. I applaud these brands and their conscious movement to select natural ingredients, but I’d love to see it made clearer on the labels (e.g., natural fragrance, essential oil, etc.)

The final item in the box was a full size tube of The Wonder Seed’s Hemp Facial Cream, English Daisy (2.4 oz. $16.95). I had heard of this brand, built around hemp seed as their signature ingredient. I had been eager to try their products so I was excited to see this one included as a sneak peek item for the February box. The facial cream is absolutely packed with botanical ingredients. I couldn’t pick out just a handful of ingredients to highlight, so here they are in full:

Purified Water (Aqua), Virgin Organic Hemp Seed Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Organic Aloe Vera, English Daisy Essential Oil, Organic Green Tea Extract, Glycerin (Vegetable), Behenic Acid (Natural Plant Based), Ginseng Extract, Mandarin White Oil, Organic Sweet Almond Oil, Jojoba Oil, Sorbitan Stearate (Natural Plant Based), Soybean Oil, Vegetable Glyceryl Stearate (Natural Plant Based), Chamomile Extract, Borage Seed Oil, Cetyl Alcohol (Coconut Oil Based), Retinyl Palmitate (Natural Plant Based), Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Hyaluronic Acid (Natural Plant Based), Geranium Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra Root Extract, Dextrin, Stearyl Alcohol (Natural Plant Based), Lauric Oil Extract, Wolf Berry Extract, Soluble Natural Plant Collagen, Potassium Sorbate (Natural Plant Based), Nutmeg Oil Extract, Sea Salt

The cream is also free from gluten, parabens, synthetic dyes or fragrances, and sulfates in addition to being vegan and cruelty free. I would say that the cream has a clean, almost soap-like scent. It is a lightweight cream that absorbs quickly, yet left my skin feeling noticeably softer and more moisturized. I can see this being a good formulation for me during the spring and summer months. I also might suggest that Rich give it a try. The scent is gender-neutral and I think it would provide a perfect amount of moisture for his skin. The tube is a very generous size at 2.4 oz., especially given the price. I imagine that it will last me a long time.

I was very pleased with this box by Vegan Cuts. I especially liked the well-rounded curation. The box included an item for haircare, skincare, cosmetics, and fragrance. Although I am still a little confused about the synthetic versus natural fragrances used in some of the products, all of the items focused attention on emphasizing more natural ingredients, which is already a step in the right direction. I also need to remind myself that Vegan Cuts is foremost a box for vegan and cruelty-free beauty items. Many of the items also contain natural ingredients, but that is not the primary focus of the box (just a frequent added bonus). Vegan Cuts’ sister company, Goddess Provisions offers a lifestyle box where the beauty items are cruelty-free, vegan, and natural, and I love that box too (see Goddess Provisions reviews here).

The overall value of this month’s box is The value of this month’s box is $77.95. I think that this is an amazing value for the $22.95 box price. I also appreciate that the items were all full size or generous deluxe-sample sizes that will allow me to get a good sense of product performance over an extended period of time. I think that the Wonder Seed cream is my favorite new discovery in the box so far. Did you find a new favorite in this month’s Vegan Cuts? If you would like to see my reviews of past Vegan Cuts Beauty Boxes, look here.

If you are curious to learn about the March Vegan Cuts box, they have released a sneak-peek video that reveals two fantastic spoiler items. Among other items, the box will include a travel size bottle of Dermorganic 8 way Thermal Spray (value $10.00) and a full size rollerball of Pacifica’s new fragrance, Tunisian Jasmine Lime (value $12.00). I love Pacifica rollerballs, and I have been looking forward to trying this new fragrance.

If you would like to see the most recent Crunchy Parent List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes, you can find that here. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos or reviews, please let me know in the comments.

To keep up with all the Crunchy Parent happenings, you can subscribe to my YouTube channel be sure to subscribe to CrunchyParent.com and the Crunchy Parent YouTube channel and visit me on Facebook Pinterest and Twitter!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Vegan Cuts Vegan Beauty Subscription Unboxing & Review: January 2016

Crunchy Parent Vegan Cuts Beauty Subscription Unboxing & Review January 2016

The Vegan Cuts Beauty Box is a monthly subscription service that sends 4-7 vegan, cruelty-free cosmetic and skincare items in each box. Products are a mix of full and sample sizes. Items are paraben free and are often organic and natural.

Boxes cost $19.95 per month, which includes U. S. shipping. There are discounts for multi-month subscriptions. I purchased this box and was not compensated in any way for this review. All opinions are my own.

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing my January 2016 Vegan Cuts box, please enjoy the video unboxing below. If you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

Each month, Vegan Cuts includes an information card that provides photos, a brief description, and valuing information for all items in the box. The card also included the code JANBEAUTY for $10 off any purchase of $50 or more at Vegan Cuts Beauty Shop. I think that Vegan Cuts (and their sister subscription company Goddess Provisions) have some of the best looking information cards out there.

Vegan Cuts Beauty Subscription unboxing & review Jojoba Company & Aubrey Organics

The first item that I saw this month was a deluxe sample-sized pump bottle of Aubrey Organics Revitalizing Therapy Moisturizer (1 oz., value $13.00). The formulation is designed to nourish dry skin and target fine lines and wrinkles. I think that anything made for dry skin is perfect for the winter months around here. The moisturizer includes a host of nourishing herbal ingredients including aloe juice, rosehip seed oil, kelp, arnica, elderflower, and hops. I found that the moisturizer was rich but absorbed into my skin within a minute or so. It had a fairly strong scent that reminded me of almonds, but it dissipated quickly. I think that it would work well for me for daytime. For less dry complexions this might work well for nighttime.

The next items in the box were a pair of products from The Jojoba Company: a sample tube of their Gentle Cleansing Balm, and a small vial of their 100% Natural Ultimate Jojoba Youth Potion (total value: $6.00). The Jojoba Company is new to me, and I was happy to be introduced to this Australian company and their beautiful natural products.

The Gentle Cleansing Balm is a non-foaming cleanser designed for sensitive and dry skin. It is bursting with jojoba and other plant-based ingredients to hydrate and nourish. In addition it contains Alpha Hydroxy Acids from papaya and melon to brighten the skin.

The Youth Potion is a beautiful blend of oils including jojoba, argan, boabab, meadow foam seed, and more. It has an absolutely gorgeous delicate floral scent that I suspect is from the linden blossom oil in the ingredients list. The potion is designed to be used like a face oil, in conjunction with or in place of a serum, and followed by a moisturizer. It went on like silk and was light and quickly absorbed. I was really quite captivated by it.

Vegan Cuts Beauty unboxing January 2016 Earthlabs Vegan Mascara, Wabi-Sabi Botanicals cleansing grains, Lashea body scrub

My next discovery was a 1 oz. glass jar of Sagga Charcoal and Rose Cleansing Grains from Wabi-Sabi Botanicals (value $8.00). The versatile powder cleanser is designed for acne-prone skin. It can be mixed with water or other base and used to gently cleanse and exfoliate the skin. It can also be left to dry on the skin as a facial mask and then gently rinsed. The charcoal and clay will help to absorb oils and toxins, while the gluten-free oats and rose petals will soothe and brighten. I was expecting a gray product due to the inclusion of charcoal, but the powder is oatmeal-colored and mildly scented. I love powder facial care products because they tend to have greater shelf-stability and they allow for customization through the use of different bases such as honey, water, floral hydrofoils, or yogurt. I know that I will get a lot of use out of this one, and may encourage Eva to give it a try on her adolescent skin as well.

I couldn’t get over the cuteness of the wee sample jar of Lashea Butter Whips Essential Body Scrub (value $1.50). The creamy body scrub blends sugar and soy seeds along with a host of moisturizing butters and oils to gently exfoliate and enrich the skin. Although Lashea does not specify which essential oils are contained in there blend that scents the product, it had a a fresh citrus scent. I think the rich texture and the bright citrus fragrance would make this a great winter pick-me-up for the skin.

The final item in the box was Vegan Lash Mascara by Earthlab Cosmetics (full size, value $25.00). Like many other natural mascaras that I have tried, this aloe-based formulation is not heavy and can be layered to give the lashes a more dramatically-enhanced look, or used conservatively for a more natural effect.

Vegan Cots Beauty Box review January 2016 Crunchy Parent non-toxic

I was impressed with this box by Vegan Cuts. I liked that the curation seemed to be focused around a multi-step skincare regimen with the addition of a cosmetic and a body care product as well. I though that the overall emphasis on hydration and moisturizing was seasonally-appropriate, but I also appreciated that Vegan Cuts included products that could work for other skin types as well. I can see myself using the Wabi-Sabi Botanicals product as an occasional detoxifying face mask on my dryer skin, whereas Eva may use it more regularly as a balancing cleanser on her more temperamental adolescent skin. The value of this month’s box is $53.50, which I think is really fantastic for the $19.95 box price, especially given that the products are all vegan and natural as well.

If you are curious to learn about the February Vegan Cuts box, they have released a sneak-peek video that reveals two fantastic spoiler items. Among other items, the box will include 100% Pure Eye Creamsticks in one of two color combinations (value $18.00), and The Wonder Seed Facial Cream (value $16.95). The first 500 new subscribers will also receive a bonus bottle of this daring purple Raga Varnish polish (value $12.50).

If you would like to see the most recent Crunchy Parent List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes, you can find that here. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos or reviews, please let me know in the comments.

To keep up with all the Crunchy Parent happenings, you can subscribe to my YouTube channel or follow me on Pinterest and Twitter.

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Goddess Provisions Spirit-Enhancing Subscription Unboxing & Review: March 2016

Crunchy Parent-Goddess Provisions March 2016

About Goddess Provisions

Goddess Provisions is a subscription service, created by the owners of Vegan Cuts. Goddess Provisions is a monthly lifestyle box for women. They send products to nourish your inner goddess and grow your spiritual practice. Boxes feature a mix of 4-6 full size items, spanning across the categorizes of aromatherapy, apothecary beauty products, superfood snacks, teas, crystals, books and more. All items are 100% vegan and cruelty-free.

Boxes cost $33 per month, which includes shipping. There are discounts for multi-month subscriptions. I purchased this box and was not compensated in any way for this review, although review may contain affiliate links. All opinions are my own. For my other Goddess Provisions unboxing and reviews, starting with their very first box, look here.

Goddess Provisions: March Unboxed

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing of the March Goddess Provisions box, please enjoy the video unboxing below. If you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

The box came well-packaged, and everything was received intact. As always, I loved the bright and informative enclosure card. Goddess Provisions does an exceptional job of highlighting their featured brands and products, as well as weaving the theme into the box. This month’s theme was “Self Awakening” and focused on the crown chakra. Goddess Provisions included products to help awaken the goddess within each of us.

Crunchy Parent Goddess Provisions March 2016 unboxing review-house of good juju & nicobella organics

The box was jam packed with items to support this month’s theme. The first item that I snapped out of the box was a House Blessing/Cleansing Herb Kit http://www.houseofgoodjuju.com/shop/house-blessingcleansing-herb-kit from House of Good Juju (2 oz., $7.00). I found this tin of botanicals, resins, stones, and wood to be intriguing. At first I thought that perhaps it was to be burned like incense or smudging herbs. Looking more closely at the House of Good Juju description, the tin is to be used as part of a multi-step ritual to cleanse or bless a home or space. During the ritual, the contents of the skin are scattered and tossed around the space. This is a way of blessing a space that is new to me. It was an interesting discovery in the box.

I couldn’t help but grab the next item with excitement (as evidenced by my tearing it open before even remembering to take the photo of the complete box-oops!). The Nicobella Organics Omega Munch looked like a bag full of brownie chunks (2 oz., $5.95). In truth, the bag held delicious crunchy chunks of organic chocolate, walnuts, and flax seeds. The week that the Goddess Provisions box arrived, I had been logging a lot of hours at the hospital with an ill family member and the Omega Munch was the perfect snack to toss in my bag to have with me. It was rich, chocolaty, satisfying, and completely delicious. The Omega Munch is organic, gluten free, and as the name suggests, it is packed with Omega-3s.

Crunchy Parent-Goddess Provisions March 2016 review chakra love, purple frog patches, your joyologist journal

The next item that I found in the box was a continuation of a new trend for Goddess Provisions. For the first several boxes, Goddess Provisions had included a small crystal in each box. These last two months, there seems to have been an evolution to incorporate crystals in the box in new ways. This month Goddess Provisions sent a beautiful necklace from Chakra Love.

Chakra Love necklace closeup

Chakra Love necklace closeup

I received a blue lapis stone necklace, representing the heart chakra (value $25.00). I could not find the exact necklace online, so it may have been exclusive to the box. Other necklaces from the Chakra Love line can be found here.

I loved the next discovery in the box, in large part because it was completely unlike anything that I have seen before. The Air Awakening air fresheners from Purple Frog Patches offer an easy alternative to chemicals (12 patches, $15.00). One of the founders of Purple Frog Patches was diagnosed with a rare cancer at age seventeen. The experience enhanced his appreciation for the role that environmental toxins play in our over health and well-being; motivating him to find an alternative to chemical air fresheners. As a rare cancer survivor myself, the desire to decrease the toxic burden on one’s body resonated strongly with me. I do not use any artificially fragranced air fresheners or candles in my home, yet I had never seen anything like the Purple Frog Patches before. These personal air fresheners come on a pad of 12 self-adhesive discs. To use, a circle is removed from the pad and bent to pop the aromatherapy capsule and release the essential oils into the air. The pads can then be stuck anywhere that needs some freshening. The Air Awakening patches blend peppermint and eucalyptus to give a bright, fresh scent to any area that needs a pick-me-up.

The final item in the box was a mini gratitude journal from Your Joyologist (value $10.00). The bright red color is a mood-boost on its own, but the “Gratitude is My Attitude” emblazoned on the front is a great reminder to reflect on life’s blessings. The lightweight journal is perfect for tucking into a pocket or purse. The simple, lined pages are ready for any thoughts that you my wish to explore or reflections that you want to hold onto.

Goddess Provisions: Overall Impression

Goddess Provisions March 2016 whole box

I am always excited to discover new products through subscription boxes, and this month’s Goddess Provisions box was packed with items that were new to me. The Nicobella Organics Omega Munch was undoubtedly the most delicious, but the house blessing kit and aromatherapy air freshening pads may be tied for the most novel products for March. The items in this month’s box have a total value of $62.95. I think that the value is great for the $33.00 purchase price. The curation stayed true to the self-awakening theme, with items to lift one’s spirit and environment.

What do you think of Goddess Provisions? Do you like the changes to the crystals in the box? If you want to get your hands on your very own Goddess Provisions box, sign up at Goddess Provisions. I’m also looking for some new boxes to review in the months ahead. If you have a request for a specific box or a type of box (e.g., kids, food, beauty) that you would like to see me review, please let me know.

As a reminder, there is still time to enter the Crunchy Parent MommyCon ticket giveaway. MommyCon is another great way to discover natural, crunchy products as well as to learn about natural parenting topics and to meet like-minded people.

If you would like to see the most recent Crunchy Parent List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes for other great crunchy-friendly subscription or gift ideas, you can find that here. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos or reviews, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe to CrunchyParent.com and the Crunchy Parent YouTube channel!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Goddess Provisions Spirit-Enhancing Subscription Unboxing & Review: February 2016

Crunchy Parent Goddess Provisions Subscription Box Unboxing & Review February 2016

Goddess Provisions is a subscription service, created by the owners of Vegan Cuts. Goddess Provisions is a monthly lifestyle box for women. They send products to nourish your inner goddess and grow your spiritual practice. Boxes feature a mix of 4-6 full size items, spanning across the categorizes of aromatherapy, apothecary beauty products, superfood snacks, teas, crystals, books and more. All items are 100% vegan and cruelty-free.

Boxes cost $33 per month, which includes shipping. There are discounts for multi-month subscriptions. I purchased this box and was not compensated in any way for this review, although review may contain affiliate links. All opinions are my own. For my other Goddess Provisions unboxing and reviews, starting with their very first box, look here.

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing of the February Goddess Provisions box, please enjoy the video unboxing below. If you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

The box came well-packaged, and everything was received intact. As always, I loved the bright and informative enclosure card. Goddess Provisions does an exceptional job of highlighting their featured brands and products, as well as weaving the theme into the box. This month’s theme was “Self Love” and focused on the heart chakra. Valentine’s Day can be a less-than-positive trigger for some. I thought the theme a great one for February and appreciated that the love was centered on one’s self.

Goddess Provisions February 2016 box Self Love-heart chakra

The box was packed full of colorful and intriguing goodies. The first item that I plucked out of the box was a heart chakra candle from In Light and Love Candles (6 oz., $12.00). I have received a different chakra candle from this line in the past from another subscription box service. I love the idea of writing one’s intention on a candle before lighting it; it brings substance to the ritual. I also think that the tiny piece of chalk that is included for writing an intention on the candle is adorable, and I appreciate that the chalk lets you erase and write new intentions as your mood and desires change. I think that the tin is just beautiful and makes the candle practical for travel as well. I personally find the fragrance of the candle to be a bit too strong for my preferences, but I know that many people love candles with a robust scent throw.

Chocolita Strawberry Passion bar close-up...Yum!

Chocolita Strawberry Passion bar close-up…Yum!

The next item was another one that I have received in some form in the past. Goddess Provisions sent a bar from Chocolita in their first ever box, and I was excited to see them once again. The raw, dark chocolate, Chocolate Strawberry Passion Bar (1.25 oz., $4.86) is enhanced with aphrodisiac herbs and strawberries to, “ignite your passion and open your heart.” I have been savoring the rich chocolate bar, and I really like the brightness that the strawberries lend to the flavor.

Goddess Provisions February 2016 unboxing & review

I was a bit taken aback when I saw a twist on a theme from Goddess Provisions. Historically, Goddess Provisions has included a precious bag with a small crystal in every box. This month, they sent a bag of three Self Love Stones from Energy Muse (value $15.00). I could not find this exact set online so I defer to GP’s stated value. The bag contains a single polished stone of rose quartz for unconditional love; rhodonite for compassion; and aventurine for opening the heart. I loved the beauty of the stones and the meaning behind them.

I think that my favorite discovery in this month’s box may have been the “grace” bracelet from Mudlove ($8.00). I love the minimal, earthy design of the stamped pottery bracelet. As someone with larger-than-average wrists I also really appreciate when bracelets are adjustable. After I took some time to explore Mudlove’s website I was even more impressed. The company began with a mission to provide clean, potable water to communities in Africa where this life-giving resource was scarce. For every item purchased, Mudlove makes a donation to Water for Good that provides for a week’s worth of clean water for one person. I was also blown away by the extensive selection of bracelet words and phrases that could be ordered in any of a rainbow of band colors. They also offer gorgeous pottery mugs (I have a pottery mug collection that adds beauty to my herbal tea drinking experience). Goddess Provisions included a coupon for 30% off a Mudlove purchase for subscribers. I think I’ll be grabbing some bracelets and a mug for me, as well as some bracelets for the girls to give to friends as gifts.

Mudlove bracelet

The beautiful colors of the Dive in Deck (value $20.00) are what first caught my eye when I noticed this item. This standard sized deck of cards pairs captivating pictures with provocative questions or thoughts designed to stimulate conversation or introspection. The deck consists of 33 cards with prompts such as, “How do you explore and expand the edges of your comfort zone?” and “When do you feel most empowered?” I love the intention of these cards to help people tune into and connect with what is important to them and to those around them. I had brought a comparable product more specifically geared to family on a trip with my mother and sister several years back. The prompts helped us start many meaningful conversations that gave us all a better appreciation for one another’s perspectives and experiences. I can think of many uses for these cards with my own kids, therapeutically, or otherwise. I had mentioned in the video that I would show close-up photos of some of the cards, but I decided not to open it; I think that it is the perfect item to have on-hand for a spur-of-the-moment gift to brighten someone’s day or to show appreciation.

Dive in Deck details

Dive in Deck details

I am really impressed with the curation and theme of this month’s box. Love is a significant focus during the month of February as partner and “Galentine’s Day” celebrations abound. I appreciated the thought that went into centering this box around love for self. I liked the balance of items, and think that a gift of chocolate, jewelry, a candle, crystals, and an interactive gift focused on introspection makes a wonderful package to receive. The value of this month’s box totals $60.00 and pays forward by providing someone in Central Africa with a week’s worth of fresh water. I think that is an incredible value. I continue to appreciate all of the boxes that I have received from Goddess Provisions. It has quickly become a favorite subscription that matches my lifestyle and values very well.

What do you think of Goddess Provisions? If you want to get your hands on your very own box sign up at Goddess Provisions. I’m also looking for some new boxes to review in the months ahead. If you have a request for a specific box or a type of box (e.g., kids, food, beauty) that you would like to see me review, please let me know.

If you would like to see the most recent Crunchy Parent List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes for other great crunchy-friendly subscription or gift ideas, you can find that here. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos or reviews, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe to CrunchyParent.com and the Crunchy Parent YouTube channel and visit me on Facebook Pinterest and Twitter!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Goddess Provisions Spirit Enhancing Subscription Box Unboxing & Review: January 2016

Crunchy Parent Goddess Provisions subscription box unboxing & Review January 2016

Goddess Provisions is a relatively new subscription service, created by the owners of Vegan Cuts. Goddess Provisions is a monthly lifestyle box for women. They send products to nourish your inner goddess and grow your spiritual practice. Boxes feature a mix of 4-6 full size items, spanning across the categorizes of aromatherapy, apothecary beauty products, superfood snacks, teas, crystals, books and more. All items are 100% vegan and cruelty-free.

Boxes cost $33 per month, which includes shipping. There are discounts for multi-month subscriptions. I purchased this box and was not compensated in any way for this review, although review may contain affiliate links. All opinions are my own. For my other Goddess Provisions unboxing and reviews, starting with their very first box, look here.

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing of the January Goddess Provisions box, please enjoy the video unboxing below. If you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

The box came well-packaged, and everything was received intact. As always, I loved the bright and informative enclosure card. Goddess Provisions does an exceptional job of highlighting their featured brands and products, as well as weaving the theme into the box. This month’s theme was “Calming Energy.”

Crunchy Parent unboxing & review Goddess Provisions vegan lifestyle subscription box January 2016

The box was quite heavy this month, and I was eager to discover why. The culprit was a beautiful glass bottle of Float Salt Bath by Being For Skin & Soul (8 oz, value $18.00). If you’ve visited CrunchyParent before, you’ve probably caught wind of the fact that I absolutely love soaking in a warm bath, so I was very excited to receive this item. Goddess Provisions sent each subscriber one of the three bath salt varieties available from Being For Skin & Soul. The Float version that I received combines French green clay with Dead Sea salt and cypress and peppermint essential oils. I have been putting in a lot of extra hours at the gym since the new year (resolutions for a stronger, healthier me). My sore muscles are going to very much appreciate this cooling and relaxing soak. It is on the agenda in the days ahead, and I can’t wait.

swatch Concrete Minerals vegan lip tint Bombshell-Goddess Provisions subscription january 2016

I was also happy to see a tube of Concrete Minerals Vegan Lip Tint in “Bombshell” (.15 oz, value $6.00). I tend to wear tinted lip balms or glosses in my day-to-day life, and I really liked the flattering Bombshell shade. The color is a bumped up nude tone that can be kept fairly sheer and subtle or layered for a bolder lip. I found the balm to be moisturizing and it has a great minty tingle to it. I loved that it was made with a bunch of organic ingredients in addition to being 100% vegan. I can see this being a purse staple for me.

Goddess Provisions January 2016 subscription unboxing review Crunchy Parent-Gaba Baba, The Goddess Line perfume

I was understandably distracted by the yummiest looking item in the box, a small bar of Gaba Baba chocolate from Yes Cacao (.88 oz., value $5.00). Yes Cacao purports that the bar is designed to, “unwind your subtle intensities” and help you breathe and relax with the aid of kava kava, Gaba, and blue lotus, among other organic and wild harvested ingredients. I found the bar to be a delicious rich chocolate with light spice notes. I was pleased to see that the bar is vegan, gluten free, 99% organic, raw, and otherwise delightful and delicious. I have been taking little squares now and again and trying to appreciate it mindfully rather than gobble it all up (challenging, but a worthy goal nevertheless).

The beautiful packaging of the next item caught my eye. The Parvati fragrance from The Goddess Line was held in a small box adorned with a beautiful rendering of an East Indian dancer (.3 oz., value $30.00). The roll on fragrance oil, that pays homage to the goddess of preservation and devotion, blends a host of moisturizing oils including coconut and sweet almond oil along with vanilla and amber scents to create a warm and grounded fragrance. I did my traditional ritual of thrusting my wrist into the faces of my loved ones, asking their opinion about the scent and everyone loved the sweet, warm fragrance.

The final item has become my anticipated Goddess Box unboxing finale; the tiny bag that always holds a small lovely crystal. This month, the little bag held a small tangerine quartz point (value $5.00). Goddess Provisions states that tangerine quartz brings in energy of understanding and acceptance of past events, aiding one in releasing old stories that no longer serve them. This seems like a poignant way to acknowledge the new start in the new year.

Goddess Provisions January 2016 box-complete unboxing & review. Vegan, spiritual, crystals, bath, green beauty, cosmetics, makeup, raw chocolate

I really loved this month’s box. Every single item is something that I will use and enjoy. Goddess Provisions always introduces me to new vegan, green brands and items. I really appreciate the curation of the boxes both within Goddess Provision’s stated mission, and through each box’s individual theme. The total value for this month’s box is $64.00, which I think is fantastic. I have been very impressed with all of the boxes that I have received from Goddess Provisions. It has quickly become a favorite subscription that matches my lifestyle and values very well. What do you think of Goddess Provisions so far? If you want to get your hands on your very own box sign up at Goddess Provisions.

If you would like to see the most recent Crunchy Parent List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes for other great crunchy-friendly subscription or gift deas, you can find that here. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos or reviews, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe to CrunchyParent.com and the Crunchy Parent YouTube channel!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Goddess Provisions Spirit Enhancing Subscription Unboxing & Review: November 2015

Crunchy Parent Goddess Provisions Spirit Enhancing Subscription Unboxing & Review November 2015

Goddess Provisions is a new subscription service, just added to the recent fall update of the Crunchy Parent Ultimate List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes. Created by the owners of Vegan Cuts, Goddess Provisions is a monthly lifestyle box for women. They send products to nourish your inner goddess and grow your spiritual practice. Boxes feature a mix of 4-6 full size items, spanning across the categorizes of aromatherapy, apothecary beauty products, superfood snacks, teas, crystals, books and more. All items are 100% vegan and cruelty-free.

Boxes cost $33 per month, which includes shipping. There are discounts for multi-month subscriptions. I purchased this box and was not compensated in any way for this review, although review may contain affiliate links. All opinions are my own. If you want to see my unboxing of the first-ever Goddess Provisions box from October, look here.

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing of the November Goddess Provisions box, please enjoy the video unboxing below. If you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

The box came well-packaged, and everything was received intact.
Goddess Provisions November subscription box review

As with last month, I loved the bright and informative enclosure card. Goddess Provisions does an exceptional job of highlighting their featured brands and products, as well as weaving the theme into the box. This month’s theme was passion and creativity, and their association with the sacral chakra. The card was a vibrant orange, the color of the sacral chakra.

The box was packed full of goodies. The first item that I spied was a Kishu charcoal filter (value $9.99). This all-natural water filter is designed to be dropped into a reusable water bottle and used for up to four months of water filtration. The filters are made from sustainably harvested oak branches that are kiln heated to transform them into naturally detoxifying charcoal. The brand makes their filters in several sizes to use in pitchers, jugs, carafes, and even a pet’s water dish. I think that the concept of a natural and plastic-free water filter is a great one. I have never seen anything like this product before and am excited to give it a try.

I was also excited to see the next item in the box, 100% Pure’s Maraca Oil Mascara (value $25.00). As with all items in Goddess Provisions boxes, the mascara is vegan, and it also happens to be gluten free and colored naturally with a blend of black tea, berry, and cocoa pigments. I had kind of written off mascara for about ten years due to the toxic ingredients that they generally contain, but in more recent years as the green beauty industry and options have grown, I have been experimenting with the more natural mascaras available. I was very happy to receive this. I like the 100% Pure brand and was eager to give this a try. I was surprised by the chocolaty scent of the mascara. I’m not sure if I like the smell or not, but if fades pretty quickly so it isn’t much of an issue. I found that the mascara added a length and thickness to my lashes that looked natural and not clumpy. It was not as dramatic a change as other formulations that I have used, but I kind of liked the more natural looking “enhancement” for an everyday option or times when I want to look fresh but not too heavily made up.

Goddess Provisions vegan spirit box Noveber review

My sweet tooth was all excited about the heart-shaped cranberry pecan raw cookie from Rawxies (value $1.99). The ingredients include oats, nuts, seeds, coconut, dates, vanilla, cinnamon, and more. The cookies are raw, vegan, and free of gluten, dairy, and soy, which is perfect for us. I couldn’t wait to give this cookie bar a try. I think that my expectations may have been too high. I was not a fan. I have eaten a lot of date and nut bars in my day so perhaps I was expecting something sweeter. Maybe a more dedicated raw foodist would have developed a different palette and greater appreciation for the cookie’s flavor.

The next item had been released as a sneak peek item by Goddess Provisions earlier and I was eager to give it a closer look. The Healing Crystals Information Card and Oracle Deck (value $6.95) was even more awesome that I expected it to be. The deck included several cards with information about crystals, their form structures, and the Mohs hardness scale for rating crystals, as well as several cards with information about the seven chakras. The deck also included 47 additional cards, each highlighting a unique crystal with a photo, chakra association, attributes, affirmation, Mohs rating, and more. I even noticed a card for the Vera Cruz amethyst crystal included in last month’s Goddess Provisions box.

I know that I would have loved this deck as a kid and would have poured over it learning about all of the crystals. I think that it would make an excellent homeschooling tool when teaching about crystals, or a gift for any science or spiritually-inclined child or adult. The cards can also be used as an oracle deck for a more metaphysical application.

Goddess Provisions 21 drops essential oil rollerball and red quartz crystal November box unboxing & review

The fifth item had also been released in the earlier spoiler, an essential oil mini rollerball from 21 Drops (.3 ml, value $7.00). The Passion rollerball is a blend of jasmine, rose, cardamom, and sandalwood essential oils is a jojoba oil base. The rollerball is designed to be applied to wrists, temples, or neck and inhaled to bring about a release of inhibitions, and to heighten magnetism and sensuality (oh my!). I found the scent to be feminine and beautiful. On initial application, I smelled the jasmine and rose primarily, but when going back for a second sniff, I could sense the cardamom especially shining through. Cardamom is such a warming herb, and I cannot ever get enough of it in autumn. I think that I will use get lot of use out of this rollerball as a natural perfume option.

Just like last month’s unboxing, I ended with the opening of a tiny drawstring bag. This month I discovered a small crystal point of red quartz, also known as hematite quartz (value $5.00). The crystal features a unique burnt orange color and is associated with the sacral chakra. I am really enjoying building up my collection of crystals large and small through subscription boxes.

Goddess Provisions included a final bonus item that I did not notice until after I completed the unboxing video. The enclosure card listed a code for an online yoga class with instructor Michelle Shea Walker. The yoga sequence was specifically designed to balance the sacral chakra, and had a listed value of $22.00. In the past of couple months I have been increasing my yoga practice at home through online video options such as these. I appreciate this bonus item and cannot wait to give it a try. I am curious to see if it incorporates the crystal in any way.

Goddess Provisions November box unboxing & review organic, natural, vegan goodness

The overall value of the box was $55.93 which does not include the $22.00 value of the online yoga class, since Goddess Provisions designated it as a bonus item. I think that this value is very strong for the purchase price and high for the “spiritual lifestyle” genre of subscription boxes. I loved the mix of items in the box, with food, beauty, body, home, and spirit all represented. With the exception of the one snack item that I just didn’t personally care for, every item will be put to get use by me, by my family, and in our home. I was introduced to a number of new brands or received products from brands that I had been hoping to try. I am very impressed with the two boxes that Goddess Provisions has put together thus far, and am already looking forward to my next month’s box.

As a reminder, you can see my unboxing and review of the first Goddess Provisions box here, and you can go to Goddess Provisions to get your hands on your very own box. Will you be getting in on the December box? I think it would make a great centering gift-to-self during the heightened energy that surrounds holiday time.

If you would like to see the most recent Crunchy Parent List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes for other great crunchy-friendly subscription or gift deas, you can find that here. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos or reviews, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Goddess Provisions NEW Spirit Enhancing Subscription Unboxing and Review: October 2015

Crunchy Parent Goddess Provisions Unboxing & Review October 2015

Goddess Provisions is a new subscription service, just added to the recent fall update of the Crunchy Parent Ultimate List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes. Created by the owners of Vegan Cuts, Goddess Provisions is a monthly lifestyle box for women. They send products to nourish your inner goddess and grow your spiritual practice. Boxes feature a mix of 4-6 full size items, spanning across the categorizes of aromatherapy, apothecary beauty products, superfood snacks, teas, crystals, books and more. All items are 100% vegan and cruelty-free.

Boxes cost $33 per month, which includes shipping. There are discounts for multi-month subscriptions. I purchased this box and was not compensated in any way for this review. All opinions are my own. This box is sold out, but the November box is available for pre-order.

If you would like to see the live-action unboxing of the very first Goddess Provisions box, please enjoy the video unboxing below. If you prefer to skip right to the product close-ups and details, scroll down past the video.

The box came well-packaged, and everything was received intact. The box was beautifully fragrant, even before being opened. I loved the spicy anise smell and was excited to dig into the box.

Goddess Provisions October first box unboxing Crunchy Parent

Since this is the very first Goddess Provisions Box, I was especially curious to see the box enclosures and get a feeling for how the box was being presented. Goddess Provisions has a bright and visually-appealing enclosure card. The enclosed items were presented in photos and each product was described with valuing information and Twitter and Instagram information for each company. I liked how Goddess Provisions was positioning themselves not just as a box service, but also as a way to build brand awareness and community around companies who make products likely to appeal to their customer base. Looking at the card, the box seemed to be focused around a “Third Eye Chakra” theme with an emphasis on tuning into your intuition. I am interested to see if all Goddess Provisions boxes will have their own unique theme.

The first item was the source of the box’s wonderful fragrance. A full size box of Buddha Teas Third Eye Chakra Tea (value: $10.99; currently on sale for $8.99 through the Buddha Teas website). The third eye chakra is associated with insight, knowledge, and wisdom. This organic herbal tea blends fresh eyebright, jasmine, spearmint, star anise, and passion flower. All of the herbs with infused with sapphire essence before drying and packaging in their bleach-free tea bags and 100% recycled boxes.

I offered Alina and Asher a cup of the new tea and they were both a bit wary at first, worried that if they did not like it they would be stuck. I suggested that I make myself a cup that they could taste before deciding to commit. In both cases, the kids opted for the “new tea” and I had to keep brewing myself a new cup. The next day both children approached me individually asking for tea; each specifying that they would like the “new tea.” Alina even went on to ask if I was planning to buy more of the “new tea” once we finish up the 18 bags. This was high praise. We are a big tea drinking family with an impressive selection of teas, yet we tend to stick with our tried and true favorites. To all embrace a new tea so immediately and wholeheartedly is rare, but this blend just seemed to be a good fit for the four of the five of us who have tried it so far.

After admiring the new box of tea, I spied a “Just Because” candle tin from Pura Botanica in their Tea Garden scent (value $13.00). Candles create such a warm comforting ambiance in the fall, and I love that this candle is made from 100% soy wax, a cotton wick, and is scented with essential oils. I appreciated the soft fragrance, which blends orange, lavender, lemongrass, peppermint, & bergamot, yet was decidedly floral. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that the travel-sized candle burns for approximately 21 hours. Their other fragrances (chai, citrus, and mint) sounded wonderful as well.

Goddess Provisions unboxing October 2015 Balanced Guru mist Chocolita raw chocolate

After discovering some new-to-me brands, I was happy to see a familiar “face” in the crowd. The Balanced Guru Intuition Energy Mist (value $10.00) is a product that I have used before. The mist is intended to be sprayed above or around you and inhaled to boost your intuition, imagination, and insight. The spray draws upon essential oils of palmarosa, pine, rosemary, lavender, lemon, and Roman chamomile to create its unique and uplifting scent. I like using the mist when I need a little jolt to pull me out of feeling stagnant or tired.

The next item in the box had been released as a teaser by Goddess Provisions through social media. The Chocolita raw white chocolate Blueberry Bliss bar had caught my eye (value $4.95). I was intrigued by the white chocolate aspect, as it was my understanding that white chocolate was a confection and not really a “chocolate” at all and I could not understand how it could be raw. I will sheepishly admit that having tasted the bar, I still don’t really understand the white chocolate descriptor. The chocolate is brown, not white, and certainly tastes rich and chocolaty, which is not the flavor that I associate with super-sweet white chocolate. I gather the white chocolate distinction is because the bar is made with cocoa butter and not actual cacao, but I’m just hypothesizing here. Perhaps someone can enlighten me a bit.

White chocolate aside, the bar was unexpected and delicious. The blueberries and other botanicals were very finely ground. The bar was smooth with only a barely perceptible grainy texture to hint at the inclusion of the plant ingredients. Asher remembered the guided chocolate meditation that I had done using a small artisanal chocolate bar received in another subscription, and thus referred to this bar as “chocolate meditation.” For days he kept asking me if he could have some of the chocolate meditation. I had to stifle a laugh when he said that he had some chocolate meditation on his face, but had licked it off because it was delicious. It makes me happy to see my children learning mindful practices and savoring what they consume. We have grown accustomed to slowly nibbling the rich small-batch chocolate bars that we have received through subscription boxes. Despite the bar’s modest size, it lasted through three days of me sharing bits of it with the children.

Goddess Provisions review Meow Meow Tweet Repair Balm & Amethyst crystal point Crunchy Parent

If you watch the video you can see how excited I was to find a Meow Meow Tweet product in the box. I really enjoyed meeting and talking with Tara, the creative spirit behind Meow Meow Tweet at A Night for Green Beauty this past summer. I love the brand’s graphics and packaging. More importantly, I value the knowledge and appreciation for plant ingredients that are reflected in their products. The vegan Repair Balm (value $18.00) included in this month’s Goddess Provisions box blends organic sesame oil and shea butter along with wildcrafted candelilla wax and organic essential oils to create a nourishing multi-purpose balm. The balm can be used on dry skin, cuticles, or lips as needed, and I know that it will be needed often in the cold and windy months ahead of us. I loved the grounded woody scent of the balm, owed largely to the myrrh essential oil, I suspect. The balm glides on smoothly and was moisturizing, but not greasy. It absorbed quickly, leaving a light, protective barrier from the candlelila wax. I can see myself using this a lot on dry hands and feet in particular.

The final item in the box was a tiny drawstring bag that held a small amethyst point inside (value $5.00). Goddess Provisions detailed the history of these precious crystals on their blog. The rare Vera Cruz amethyst points included in the box are purported to be a very special high vibrational crystal; allowing a spiritual connection while also enhancing the protective energy field, and aiding in meditation.

Goddess Provisions first October box review Crunchy Parent

The overall value of the box was $61.94, which I think is a great value relative to the purchase price. Goddess Provisions has curated and presented a beautiful first offering. The products included represented a nice mix of edible treats, body care, home, and spiritual items. The brands all appear to have a strong emphasis on quality of ingredients and mindfulness for the planet and its inhabitants. I was pleased to see that the brands who were familiar to me were ones that I like a great deal, and that there was also a host of new-to-me brands whose products I was happy to discover. One of my favorite aspects of subscription boxes is learning about new companies and products that have already been screened and vetted by the careful curators to be consistent with my values and priorities. I liked everything about this box, and eagerly look forward to watching the subscription as it moves forward.

I am amazed at the transformation and growth in the “green lifestyle” subscription box genre in the two years since I started to explore subscription boxes that are in keeping with the way that I live. I am thrilled that consumers continue to demand healthier, safer products; creating a market for conscious companies and subscription services. Goddess Provisions is a great addition to this mix.

If you would like to see the most recent Crunchy Parent List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes, you can find that here. To see other crunchy subscription box video unboxings, look here on the Crunchy Parent You Tube channel. If you have any suggestions or requests for future videos or reviews, please let me know in the comments, and be sure to subscribe!

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Barganic Alert: Vegan Cuts Limited Edition Goddess Box

Vegan Cuts Goddess Box

Vegan Cuts is one of the many crunchy-friendly subscription box services featured in the Crunchy Parent Ultimate List of Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes. They source and send quality, 100% cruelty-free cosmetic, skin care, and beauty products to their monthly subscribers. On occasion, Vegan Cuts curates limited edition themed boxes available for purchase individually.

You may have read in my fall subscription box update that Vegan Cuts has recently spun off a sister subscription box company, Goddess Provisions. The first GP box shipped out just this week (I’ll be posting my review in the days ahead). For those who want a sense of the vegan goddess vision, Vegan Cuts and Goddess Provisions have co-curated a limited edition Goddess Box. The box is filled with jewelry, aromatherapy products, and even enlightened chocolates to inspire and delight your inner goddess. Box price is $39.00 and ships free to the U.S. The box features 13 items worth almost $150, including:

Buffalo Gal Organics Goddess Perfume – 5 ml
Curandera Remedies Kali Aromatherapy Oil – 3 ml
Dark Days Chocolate Moon Patty – .25 oz
ZenBunni Chocolate Lost Salt of Atlantis bar- 1.7 oz
Dirt Goddess Super Seeds Wildflower Seed Bombs (3 balls)
Dirty Hippie Cosmetics Aromatherapy Diffuser Locket – 27 mm, locket only
Dynomighty Floral Fractal Mighty Wristlet
Hi Wildflower Botanica Hanalei perfume – 2 ml
MantraBand Silver Love and Light Bracelet
NOVICA Shamballa Bracelet – Adjustable, fits approx 6″-9″
Vegan Cuts Crystal Nail File
Wise Oak Herbs Sleepy Luna Mister – 1 oz
Your Joyologist Own Your AwesomeTM Affirmation Cards – 3 surprise cards

Note: Crystals and candles pictured are not included

See link above for more item photos and details, as well as to purchase. This is a one-time box purchase and will not start a re-billing subscription with Vegan Cuts. Boxes are ready to ship immediately.

Although I haven’t posted my first Goddess Provisions unboxing video or review yet, I will say that I discovered some great brands, and found some new favorites. I can only imagine that a Vegan Cuts/Goddess Provisions super-sized collaboration box will be a great way to pamper the goddess in you life (or your own inner goddess). Are you going to take advantage of one of the Vegan Cuts limited edition Goddess boxes? Have you signed up to try the new Goddess Provisions box or are you waiting to see a review first?

**Barganic Alerts are an effort to spread awareness about affordable crunchy goods and services (and here’s why). They are not endorsements, nor am I compensated in any way. They tend to be time-limited, and often go quickly. To make sure that you are always in the know, subscribe to CrunchyParent.com to receive emails of all Barganic Alerts as soon as they are posted**

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather

Holistic Cyber Monday Deals: Subscription Boxes, Green Beauty, and More

Photo credit: twicepix / Foter.com / CC BY-SA

Photo credit: twicepix / Foter.com / CC BY-SA

Is your credit card crying yet? I must admit that I’m feeling a little exhausted by all of the shopping frenzy that seemed unavoidable these past few days, even though I’ve only been to the grocery store in that time. I do appreciate the opportunity to save money on purchases that we have been waiting to make. There are some great deals to be had on everything from appliances to winter outerwear. It’s also a good time to stretch your dollar and bring healthier products into your home or the homes of others at a more manageable price. I wanted to highlight a few more deals that end today.

Subscription Box Deals:

Once again, I love crunchy-friendly subscription boxes. I think that they make great gifts or gifts-to-self. Most of the following subscriptions are all featured on my Ultimate Guide to Crunchy-Friendly Subscription Boxes. You can find out more about each one there. Some will be added to my Winter update very soon (keep an eye out for that).

1. Mindfulness Box is offering 20% off of everything in their online store and off of subscription purchases with the code GRATITUDE20. See reviews of past Mindfulness Boxes here.

2. Goddess Provisions is offering 15% off subscriptions for first time subscribers with code magic15. Subscriptions will renew at regular price. Expires on Dec 1. They also have stocked a few of their first two boxes in their shop if you missed out. See reviews of the past Goddess Provisions boxes here.

3. Vegan Cuts is offering up to 20% off their snack and beauty subscription boxes as well as bonus gifts through the link provided (no code needed).

4. Love with Food is offering 15% off all subscriptions as well as bonuses for multi-month subscription purchases (see link for details).

5. Send Me Gluten Free is offering 20% off a 3, 6 or 12 month subscription using coupon code CYBERMONDAY20.

6. Mystical Mojo Box is offering an array of Cyber Monday deals with the following codes: CMMEGA = 27% off Mega Mojo Boxes; CMMOJO = 22% off Mojo Boxes; CMCRYSTAL = 18% off Crystal Mojo Boxes; CMTAROT = 18% off Tarot Readings.

7. Yogi Surprise is offering 40% off your first jewelry box with code JEWELRY15.

Green Beauty Deals:

1. Devine Beauty Emporium (the sister site to PureBox) is having a Cyber Monday sale with the code DEVINE10. Buy $100, get $10 off. Buy $200, get $30 off. Buy $300, get $50 off.

2. Lauren Brooke Cosmétiques is offering 30% off all full-sized products today.

Bonus Deal:

Chico Bag is offering 40% off all orders $50 or more today using code CYBER2015 (excludes sale items).

For additional deals that may still be running through today, check out my earlier holistic Thanksgiving weekend deal posts here and here. If you have any crunchy bargains to share, please let me know in the comments.

**Barganic Alerts are an effort to spread awareness about affordable crunchy goods and services (and here’s why). They are not endorsements. They tend to be time-limited, and often go quickly. To make sure that you are always in the know, subscribe to CrunchyParent.com to receive emails of all Barganic Alerts as soon as they are posted**

facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailby feather
1 2